• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help (Pls Help) Photos in SD Card went missing suddenly, all is left are the .arc & .tec files in cache

Winnie Au

Lurker
Apr 21, 2013
With the alert of Blank SD card (SD card black or has unsupported file system), all my photos under the camera (/sdcard/DCIM/Camera) in my sd card in samsung note mobile phone suddenly went missing and what is left are the .tec &.arc files in the /sdcard/DCIM/Camera/Cache

Please assist.

I tried to recover the photos by other recovery programmes but invalid.
How do I recover photos from external sd card when the drive is not being detected by the programme.

I have never done any backup before but would learn to do so now if i can get the photos back. :(

Thanks all.

Winnie

Hello Winnie Au. Welcome aboard!

Have you tried looking for them with the sd card connected straight to a pc with an adapter?

I hope you find them!
Hi Dustwun77,

I have tried connecting to PC via (i) mirco sd card reader and (ii) inserting the sd card to another mobile phone. Apart from the pop-up box in asking me to format the sd card before using, the sd card cannot be detected.

I have checked on the driver of the adapter. It is working properly and the driver is updated.

Even if I can open the drive that is mapped to the adpater, it shows 0 items in the sd card. But when I right clicked on properties of the drive itself, it shows that the space in the drive is the fully utilised.

As such, none for the recovery programme which I installed works for my sd card cannot be detected.

Please assist.

Winnie

Reactions: dustwun77
Upvote 0
That doesn't sound good. Let me see if i can find some help for you. It is starting to sound like your sd card is corrupt or something.

Don't give up yet!

Edit: I have sent out an sos of sorts, see who shows up. It is Sunday though. Hang tight!