PLZ HELP: Eris (2.1 leak) unable to launch web content from apps


Last Updated:

  1. EnvyOnTheCoast

    EnvyOnTheCoast Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    EDIT: SORRY - I see a little blurb about it in the 2.1 leak info

    Hi everyone.

    I'm having a problem that I can't seem to find via searching the net. My Droid Eris with the 2.1 leak installed since it leaked won't properly launch weblinks when using an app. The examples I have are "Toshl" which is a personal finance app - when you register it takes you to their site, but everytime I try I get the same "Web page not available" dummy page the one with the little green android peeking from upside-down and says to check my connection, reload later, or check a cached copy of the page.

    I know my connection is fine - I'm on my own private secure wireless network at home. I figure I must have acidentally toggled or installed something to make this not work - but I can't think of what it was or find any settings that would do it.

    Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance for taking the time to look.

    - Matt
     

    Advertisement
  2. mobil3gen

    mobil3gen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    19
    What have you tried thus far? battery pull? *228 option 1 maybe? Re-install the rom?
     
  3. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    Have you thought about upgrading to the 2.1 v2 OTA instead? I read that fixed a lot of issues
     
  4. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    Found a work around? Say more!
     
  5. Jayse

    Jayse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    There is no workaround as of yet. It's just a problem with our current 2.1 leaks that we have to live with.
     
  6. rkymtnbum

    rkymtnbum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So this is an issue for everyone then? Lame sauce... Do you know if anyone is working on a fix for it?
     
  7. hybridowner

    hybridowner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    This seems to be a persistent problem with the leaked 2.1. It seems to happen with apps that try to open a website while still in the app (i.e. they don't open a separate external browser). Some apps that I've experienced this with are Astrid trying to access the login page for Remember the Milk, and Huffington Post when trying to open videos or slide shows.
     
  8. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    Wapedia is also broken but NPR News works.
     
  9. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    Well this a problem even for us that are rooted Because I hadn't noticed it, but when I tried using the ups app all I got was This page could not be found But when I tried it from the browser it was there so it must be something on VZW end.
     
  10. LiverpoolsNo9

    LiverpoolsNo9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    32
    The one thats the most annoying for me is the Bank of America app, which is handy to have.
     
  11. jessebwallace

    jessebwallace Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever figure out how to fix this? I am running Ivans and I have this problem.
     
  12. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    Use another rom like plain jane and your problem should be solved.
     

Share This Page

Loading...