Poor performance wth Yahoo mailSupport


Last Updated:

  1. DocJohn

    DocJohn New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's up with Yahoo mail on the Moment? Its performance is absolutely dismal! :confused: I followed the steps in manual set up instructions I found in a thread here:

    INCOMING
    Imap server - imap.mail.yahoo.com
    port - 143
    security type - TLS (if available)

    OUTGOING
    SMTP Server- smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com
    port - 25
    security type - TLS (if available)
    * check Require sign-in

    I was able to establish a link with my Yahoo mail account, but is reliabilty and performance is poor at best (I had much better performance accessing Yahoo mail on my old Samsung Instinct).

    Most the time when I try to check my Inbox, I get a "Username or password incorrect" notice. (Believe me, they are not incorrect). If I press "Menu" and then the "Refresh" button, I then get a "Connection error" notice!

    If anyone has any fix or any info for resolving this issue, then please post it here. I can access my Yahoo e-mail okay through the browser, but this is really not the way I prefer to do this.
     

    Advertisement
  2. chixdigit

    chixdigit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do you have a Gmail account set up (AND ACTIVE) on the phone?
    It needs to have a Gmail account active on the phone for Ymail to work.

    If so, try "refreshing" your Gmail account, then wait like a day, and hopefully it will help with your Yahoo connection..

    I know... I think Ymail on this phone is pretty glitchy also, (I get the same issue about once a month), but that's my best offer at help.

    FYI, I prefer the interface of Ymail vs. Gmail (Ymail's inbox format vs. Gmail's "conversations" and Ymail's folders format vs. Gmails "labels", BUT a failsafe is to have your Ymail forwarded to your Gmail (done in Gmail settings on a computer), and then if your Ymail will not connect, and you need something from your Ymail inbox, you can just go to your Gmail on the phone and it should also be in there..

    You could ALSO just to go to Ymail via a browser, but I prefer the actual email app.. Too bad it is so glitchy.. You have the settings as good as I know we can get them though.
     
  3. DocJohn

    DocJohn New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your advice.

    I have a very active gmail account on my phone. I have all my work-related e-mails forwarded to it. I used to forward my work e-mails to my yahoo mail account, but stopped doing this because the performance was so poor and erratic on my Moment.

    Also, like you, I prefer the interface of Ymail vs. Gmail for the same reason you do. Gmail is working consistently well on my Moment, and I hope I can get Ymail working as well too.
     
  4. sboggus

    sboggus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yahoo and Sprint just don't play nicely with one another. For that matter, Yahoo doesn't play nice with most mobile phones. You can assume it is Yahoo based on my past experience. Sprint says it has to do with their servers. I have had issues with all of my previews WM phones, but it works a little better on the Moment.
     
  5. Cirga

    Cirga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm.. I hope I can find a solution for this. My co-worker has a droid and he is having all kinds of issues with Yahoo mail as well. I cannto get it to work reliably on my moment.

    Maybe its just Yahoo & Android
     
  6. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1 ... issues with yahoo and WM over a year ago is what caused me to finally migrate fully off my yahoo email address and start using only my gmail addy. Once or twice I may have missed something I could have done with yahoo.. but really filters and labels in gmail more than makes up for the ability to sort my inbox.
     
  7. Lenandroid

    Lenandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Docjohn...i just got my Android a week ago and get the same issues.....i will try the "TLS" security setting to see if its available....but i got it to work for like one day...then i get the same issues you describe.....Motorola Droid on Verizon.....
     
  8. njbianco

    njbianco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    8
    honestly were lucky that even works, your actually supposed to pay for a premium account to be able to use something away from yahoo to check your yahoo mail so even if performance isn't great better then nothing for free when it supposed to cost money with yahoo.
     
  9. raiderep

    raiderep Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you for the info. I used these settings and my yahoo mail is working now. I had tried all the other tips I could find until now to no avail. I will report back if I get any spotty results.....
     
  10. Lenandroid

    Lenandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    well....it didn't work yesterday....but it worked this morning.....go figure....
    i tried the "TLS" setting, but that didn't seem to do anything for me.....
     
  11. bboozer

    bboozer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another issue... I have finally got my Ymail working sort of (I can get incoming and now outgoing emails to work) thanks to the posts here on this forum. But, like everyone else said they are spotty.... I did notice too, like was posted in another thread, that when Wifi is on I get the username and/or password incorrect notice...

    Now, how can I get my phone to notify me that I have a new Ymail when it is "sleeping" or is that not possible? I had a Nextel Blackberry 7100i before this (and everyone was making fun of it saying "is that the 1st B-Berry ever") but I will say that it worked, and my Ymails came through and notified me. Hell they usually got to the B-Berry before the desktop....

    Thanks for the help, I have had this phone for 2 weeks now and still trying to get it set up how I like it. But, this site has been very helpful.
     
  12. chixdigit

    chixdigit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    Not sure if this will help you, but I wanted to try.
    To get notified when you get a new email:
    Go into your Ymail.
    Press Menu/ Account Settings.
    In there "check" the Email Notification setting.
    Do you have that checked? I don't want to get notified when I get any new emails, so I've always had that unchecked, but I knew that option was there.
    Not sure if it will notify when the phone is sleeping though.
    If not, you might want to try "missed reminder" app on the Market, but I'm not sure if that app will remind you of emails. I know it works for calls and texts tough. (I don't have it on my phone, or I would check about emails for you). Check it out though.
     
  13. bboozer

    bboozer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help. I do have it set to notify me. It works ok when I have it on, but when the screen is off I have no idea that I have a new email. So if there are any other suggestions, I will try them
     
  14. ashemann

    ashemann Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0





    Ditto, worked out Great for me as well.
    Thanks
     
  15. ColdStart

    ColdStart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    7
    I used the same instructions found in this thread to set up my free Yahoo Mail as well and have had no problems. It's performance is the same as the other 3 email accounts I have setup, including Gmail. I have it set to check every hour for new emails.
     
  16. DocJohn

    DocJohn New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the responses. The best tip I've learned so far is to leave Wi-Fi shut off otherwise you can get a "connection error" message when you try to open Y-mail.

    When Wi-Fi is disabled, Y-mail seems to be working with pretty fair reliability for me now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...