POP EMail IssuesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. colabear605

    colabear605 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I started getting a "Connection Error" message for email downloads 2 1/2 weeks after getting the phone. I have gone round & round with Verizon, my cable provider, and Motorola and have eliminated the cable provider as an issue. My accounts will work on non-Driod phones. Verizon customer support verified this last week at their store. I have has a few hard-resets perforfmed on it and set it back to factory standards - still no joy. I can send emails from my POP account through the Droid - just not receive them. I have gone onto Motorola's support forum and have seen NUMEROUS posts about POP email issues. Has anyone else had similar issues? Have you been able to correct them? I am about ready to return this phone and walk away from the Android operating system.
     

    Advertisement
  2. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Switch to K-9 Mail, or just import your POP3 accounts into the GMail app.
     
  3. colabear605

    colabear605 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah - I forgot to include that. I am currently pulling my emails through gmail. Functional, but not operational. The POP accounts should work the way they are supposed to work, an nobody should be required to funnel their emails through Google or anything else. It is analogous to when Microsoft would make it difficult to use browsers other than theirs.
     
  4. Arsonman

    Arsonman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well I am having just the opposit problem. I am receiving emails through pop3 but can not send them.
     
  5. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    i cant seem to link a yahoo account, i get some sort of error
     
  6. bigdroid

    bigdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Likes Received:
    132
    Do you have a basic Yahoo acct or do you have the Yahoo Plus?
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    True.

    Use K-9 Mail app.
     
  8. sfinchler

    sfinchler Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried K-9. Worked fine for a day but brought my Droid to its knees the next day. Had to uninstall.

    Still waiting for a good email app. I'm happy with the phone, but I give it a C for the email capabilities.
     
  9. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Were you using the regular or "Beta" version? Myself, and others, have been using K-9, for an extended period of time, w/no system issues. Also, which POP3 provider do you have? K-9 has acknowleged issues with Hotmail Plus accounts.
     
  10. sfinchler

    sfinchler Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure it was the real, i.e. not beta version but I wouldn't swear to it. I was using it with an att.net (the old worldnet) address. I could try installing it again and see if it works this time. I'm currently using Touchdown for my Exchange email from work but that doesn't work with POP3. It would be nice to have one email app that worked for both. I'm very frustrated with the builtin app.
     
  11. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Also try using the "automatic" setup (i.e. don't manually enter server info), an double check your folders' class and sync settings...make sure they aren't updating every minute.
     
  12. sfinchler

    sfinchler Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed it again so let's see what happens in a day or two. I have it updating every 10 minutes for now. I don't understand the "class" settings at all. Can someone explain how that's used?
     
  13. sfinchler

    sfinchler Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Its a thourough explanation, but in a nutshell:

    1. Assign your folders to a "Class" level
    2. Configure "which classes" get synched
    3. Configure "which classes" get displayed
     
  15. sfinchler

    sfinchler Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice summary. So far so good with my POP3. Does anyone here use K-9 for Exchange? Any thoughts, good or bad?
     
  16. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I don't think K-9 supports Exchange...Touchdown is the 3rd party Active Sync/Exchange client of choice.
     
  17. sfinchler

    sfinchler Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    K9 and touchdown is my combination at the moment. I noticed K9 let's you add an Exchange account but it didn't work. It would've been nice to use just one app but...
     

Share This Page

Loading...