Popular Electronics has the Samsung Galaxy S in Stock INCLUDING the Tmobile versionGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Phawx

    Phawx Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9

    Advertisement
    elchingon666 and 2FR35H like this.
  2. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    How much?

    No thats the european version it doesn't have AWS bands 1700/2100 I think they mean European Tmobile for 3G either way $800 is too much

    Edit #2 Nevermind you are right.
     
  3. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    This is form the first link:

    Network Standard: Quad-Band 850/900/1800/1900 MHz, 3G EURO Standard

    Looks to me like it does have 1900, and 850. Wouldn't that work on AT&T?
     
  4. Phawx

    Phawx Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes it will work on ATT, but you would only get edge. Not 3G
     
  5. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    OH. I was thinking that 3G was 850...but maybe its 950.
     
  6. Phawx

    Phawx Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    No, ATT 3G is indeed 850/1900. What I am saying to you is the "Quad band 850/900/1800/1900 MHz" is for 2g networks.

    Then it states that it follows the EURO 3G standard. If you scroll down, you will see that the 3G bands are 900/2100. Which is dual band.

    The one we need for ATT in the US is Tri-band 900/1900/2100.

    Hope that clears it up.
     
  7. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    Thanks. Yes, that helps.

    I've been reading some threads where some folks are considering purchasing the international version because it has "1900" and that will work on AT&T.

    I"m thinking I want to wait for At&T to have it, so I can be sure to have all the bands I need. Which most likely means a fair wait. So by then maybe I should wait until Christmas time and see what all is on the market.

    But I am dying to upgrade. I'm on an old Tilt.

    [EDIT]
    It sure is confusing (I'm not complaining at you!). But when as the first line of last reply says ATT 3G is 850/1900, then later it says we need 900/1900/2100...doesn't seem to make sense.

    But then, that's why I rely on people who know whta they are doing, and/or purchase directly from AT&T. ;-)
     

Share This Page

Loading...