possessed captivate plethora of issues!!!!Support


Last Updated:

  1. mccann.audrey

    mccann.audrey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are some of the crazy issues im having

    1) vibrate does not.work whatsoever... Checked all the individual settings

    2) alarm clock & timer does not play audio

    3) when i select a contact to call a different one loads

    4) when i reply to a text message it randomly.choses a different contact to.send.it to *GULP*

    5) contacts dissapear and i can only find them by starting a text message then dialing from there

    i think this.is the bulk of my.issues... But major ones!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    First, welcome!

    Second, exchange the phone.
     
  3. KonaZXIII

    KonaZXIII Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    Does the GPS work?
     
  4. mccann.audrey

    mccann.audrey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It never really worked.... Would always show me a block off.. Now hardly loads..ughhhhh
     
  5. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Permit me to expand on my original posting.

    Exchange the phone.
     
  6. mccann.audrey

    mccann.audrey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah.. Need to get it back stock.for warranty..
     
  7. KonaZXIII

    KonaZXIII Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    Wait- what?

    How about you put it back to stock to fix almost all of your problems...
     
  8. JoeMap

    JoeMap Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    While you're putting your phone back to stock, please tell us what Root method and ROM you were running...

    That should be helpful information to us in the Captivate community and especially the dev's who work so hard on the ROMS. They need to know about any bugs, otherwise how can they fix them?

    JoeMap
     
  9. JoeMap

    JoeMap Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    One last thought...

    If you flashed a ROM at least a few days prior to the issues showing up, did you download any other apps from the Market, etc? If so, please let us know. Even if it doesn't seem related, a rogue app could be causing your problems.

    Again I say, your voice and that of any others with the same issue will help the dev quickly isolate what the problem is.

    JoeMap
     
  10. mccann.audrey

    mccann.audrey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats on my to do list.. Things are just crazy busy right now and i havent had a second to sit at.the computer.. Trying to see if i can just do everything on my phone.. Having issues though.

    Oh and get this pretty sure i know why all of this is happeneing.. So i go.to the reboot screen and reinstall packages and notice that installation never completes. Something about e:signatures or something (i know very vauge) but basically i found out that i need a different recovery.. Something with a 2 not a 3 (vauge again i know... Just way too tired to reference it)

    so i get what i need and downloaded rom manager (free version) and i xant seen to get it to take not exactly sure what im doing wrong..

    Guess i just need to.find time at the computer..
     
  11. mccann.audrey

    mccann.audrey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I first did the unleash the beast and that worked great except that was around the time the vibrate went away.. Used the one click odin..

    Then someone else upgraded me to

    firmware version 2.2
    build - cognition v2.2 beta2.ucji6
    Kernel- 2.6.32.9 jetaek.lee@sept-11 #1
     
  12. KonaZXIII

    KonaZXIII Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    In my experience Cogntion has been very buggy. I've had to remove every version I've installed do to instability/crashing.

    Get Odin and put it back to stock as soon as you can.
     
  13. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    A voice of sanity. More people need to read this.

    Odin's result is not a perfect return to stock. Hacking is a 1-way street. I wonder how many people would still go crazy with Odin and ROM Manager if they realized this. Of course, it's rarely disclosed to them by the hacking-advocates.
     
  14. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Cognition, eh? A tidbit of information not available in your original post, leading me to believe that you phone was, in fact, possessed and was the poster child for defective units.
     
  15. mccann.audrey

    mccann.audrey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    soim back to stock.. but vibrate didnt come back :( looks like ill be exchanging my phone :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...