Possible Incredible Facebook Contact Solution. Need answers.Support


Last Updated:

  1. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    There are many topics on the subject but I couldn't find where this option was mentioned.
    As many of us with an Incredible know, the Facebook integration is cool but annoying in that it throws every Facebook friend with a listed phone number within your dialer screen and other key contact locations. So here's a possible solution if someone can help me.
    On my friend's Motorola Droid, his Facebook app has an option that will only sync Facebook contacts with known phone contacts. It's listed under menu>settings>other settings (the Incredible shows only 'Helpful Hints' under this same menu item, although it's version number is higher). This is awesome in that it gets rid of the zillions of people you don't want showing up in your dialer.
    So, can you replace the Incredible's Facebook app with the Moto Droid's? I have it downloaded but can't install it since I can't remove the stock Facebook apps that came on the Incredible. Is it possible to use the MOTO Droid Facebook app instead?
    I didn't have much time on his Droid so if I'm mistaken on any point then so be it. Just hoping for options.
     

    Advertisement
    kwest12 likes this.
  2. Heelfan71

    Heelfan71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    13
    I thought all you have to do is click on "people" and then "menu" and then "View" and uncheck facebook.
     
  3. pdykstra

    pdykstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    11
    I had never even noticed that before. If you start typing in a name into your dialer who you do not have saved on your phone there name and number will appear if they have there phone number listed on facebook. This has nothing to do with the Unchecking facebook option described above.
     
  4. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, this is an option. But LOTS of high maintenance owners / users like myself are looking for a cleaner option that eliminates the need to take even that step, especially if it's already an option on the closely related Moto Droid.
    Edit - You can find where many fat-fingered people have accidentally called Facebook friends that we haven't even spoken to since grammar school, etc haha.
     
  5. Heelfan71

    Heelfan71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    13

    well, it takes maybe 10 seconds to do it and then you are done. :confused:
     
  6. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well how about "I would like to make my customizable, opensource phone and make it do exactly what I want it to." Jeez. This thread was meant for people who have complained along with me. We know the methods to get around it. We are looking for something cleaner.
     
  7. superchaos

    superchaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    36
    Here is a clean way to get those fb numbers out without fooling with the phone. How to Permanently Delete a Facebook Account - wikiHow
     
  8. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
  9. Heelfan71

    Heelfan71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    13
    you can make it do what you want to. Problem is it is too simple for the "high maintenance" owners I guess. :rolleyes:
     
  10. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Two of your Six posts have contributed absolutely zero to the topic at hand. You are well on your way to becoming a posting superstar, sir! I expect those "Thanks" buttons underneath your posts to be pressed often!
    Now, to contradict your informative reply, NO, I CANNOT make it do what I want it to. Your solution is not MY solution nor the solution needed by others. Therefore, as of now and despite your simply amazing insight, I cannot make it do what I want it to do.
    Thank you, drive forward.
     
  11. kwest12

    kwest12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    69
    @ everyone who has tried to shoot down RandomTopic, make "jokes", etc. Please consider that this is place that people come for help. When they ask a question and are met with criticism, sarcasm, etc. it can become very discouraging. If you're just going to be sarcastic, make a jab at the OP or something, please consider not posting.

    I have had this issue recently myself and I have begun to wonder if I should explore other options (read as 'other forums') with users that are more willing to be helpful and less intent upon spamming, trolling and trying to impress others with their wit. I'm torn, because there some extremely helpful members here, but there seem to be a TON of the other sort as well.... If you fall into that "other" category, please take this into consideration.

    Now back on topic: RandomTopic, I definitely +1 your OP. I would like to know if their is a solution to this issue similar to the one offered to Moto Droid owners.
     
    v8dreaming, itsTee and RandomBehavior like this.
  12. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    I'm just going to take a wild stab and say that hacking a MotoDroid app to work on the Dinc is a FAR less clean solution than the one outlined above.

    I mean, it'd be super nice if the HTC app had that feature, but I'm sure not going to be trying to jury rig my phone to use a version of FB it shouldn't be.
     
    itsTee and RandomBehavior like this.
  13. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for actually lending something to the thread :)
    Being my first Android based phone, I'm not completely familiar with how compatible .APK files are from one phone to the next. I know some transfer across smoothly and others are too proprietary without altering. Was just curious if anyone knew the ins and outs of removing the stock apps and replacing them with others. Again, thanks for not simply replying with another useless response. It's seriously appreciated. :)
     
  14. superchaos

    superchaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    36
    I couldn't help but joke when I went to people>menu>view and unchecked the facebook contacts. That is one of the less complicated things to do on this phone. It isn't like you have to do it everytime you get a new friend on facebook. The neat thing about the check boxes is you can select only FB contacts or only contacts with phone numbers, it gives you a choice you can change anytime.

    Coming from the Eris, I have nothing to complain about. Minor issues. Still very satisfied with the phone.
     
  15. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
    Why is it that every time we try to work out an error on this phone people think that we are just a step away from returning it?
     
  16. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have Facebook contacts unchecked and I also have Show Only Contacts With Phone Numbers Enabled. But when you click PHONE on the bottom of the screen to make a call, a monstrous list of Facebook contacts is still showing. That's what we are trying to bypass (without pressing menu>people). If I could make the People option a default view type behind the dialer, I'd shut up also hahaha. I know it's a minor annoyance, but it is an annoyance for more people than just myself. There are several threads within this forum alone addressing it. Everybody is bothered by something. That something just happens to be this for me... well, and spiders. Screw spiders. ;)
     
  17. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    One word.... FANBOYS :)
    It's the PS3 vs Xbox
    or iPhone vs Any Phone
    or DS vs PSP
    or Apple vs Microsoft
    thing all over again... just a different platform.
     
  18. ithejdi

    ithejdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    19
    Can you go into Sync and uncheck facebook contacts like you can with gmail? If so you could unsync them all then link the ones you actually want. Not sure if this works because I removed the facebook stuff due to all the contacts in my dialer. I'd rather not drunk dial some random facebook friend lol.
     
  19. superchaos

    superchaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    36
    It may be because most of your FB friends have phone numbers on their profile. If you have everyone you want in your Google account, just check that one. Do you actually have contacts without a phone number? I don't think I do. I don't really contact people by email with my phone. It is easier to text them.
     
  20. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Unfortunately no haha. I unsynced Facebook and it removed them all. Then as soon as you opt to resync any one person it repopulates your phone with them all. Cheesy. haha
     
  21. RandomBehavior

    RandomBehavior Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    No it's showing only people with posted phone numbers. But I actually love the integration of Facebook with my "people" contacts and how easy it is to slide over to their albums and status updates.
     
  22. soleilvie

    soleilvie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    13
    It would be great to have Facebook linked only with People but I was too annoyed by the 200 Facebook friends and numbers that showed up with my dialer so I went to Accounts and Sync and just removed my Facebook account from syncing.
     
  23. pdykstra

    pdykstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    11
    yeah, there really should be a way to turn this off. the "people" and then "menu" and then "View" and uncheck facebook method described above does not disable this. oh well, its pretty minor really and i can live with it.
     
  24. reltubn

    reltubn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also found it frustrating that the initial contact sync dumped all of my facebook friends onto my phone list. Very unwelcome "stock" setting.
    I have an Incredible and here's what I did to get rid of my facebook contacts in my phone list.
    menu>accounts & sync>facebook>sync contacts, (uncheck)>sync now
    I'm pretty sure that worked.
    And yes, the douschebags who feel the need to load up forums with posts that have nothing to do with the initial thread, or crack lame jokes, or make jabs at people need to go away, but unfortunately never will. It's so easy to hide behind the keyboard and click send. What better to do while wasting away in Mommy's basement with the mushroom farm?
    I know, sort of "the pot calling the kettle black".
     
  25. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    That didn't seem to work for me, but I'm not sure. Also, there's that option somewhere to only show/sync (I don't recall) facebook contacts with phone numbers, but that doesn't stop the facebook contacts from coming up when you try to find a text.

    I don't mind my facebook contacts in "people" because I can easily filter them out. I just don't want them to show up when I try to make a phone call or send a text.

    There are to be a way to do that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...