Possible petition for Blur-LESS Froyo build?


Last Updated:

  1. funkadesi

    funkadesi Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    I know for a fact that majority of us HATE blur. It is next to useless on our phones and it only causes delay/lag in the phone. The widgets are not as good as sense and facebook integration is horrible.

    If we get enough people to petition to motorola, to provide us with a Cleaner version of FROYO, Do you guys thinks its feasable?

    this would obviously require folks from other forums to join in as well, and I am sure we can find plenty of people to get on board with us. :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Not likely to happen...Moto is committed to Blur across a number of platforms.

    You'll have better luck rooting your phone and installing one of the "de-blurred" ROMs that are available, Epic or Tranquility.
     
  3. clos1084

    clos1084 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    8
    wont happen, I guarantee it
     
  4. imtheconvict

    imtheconvict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    the roms are fully de blured from what i understand
     
  5. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    +1

    I'm rooting my D2 as soon as my 30 days are up. Just in case I change my mind on the D2.
     
  6. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26
    I like blur.
     
  7. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Nothing wrong with that.

    I loved Sense when I first had my HTC Eris, and didn't understand why people wanted to get rid if it.
    It did make the phone prettier... but once i got over that, i realized that smoothness and speed are more important.
    I had a D1 for a couple of months and now cant wait to get back to Vanilla.
     
  8. infil

    infil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    16
    epic 2.5 is blur free and very close to vanilla android :) overall looks great. Loving it a day in :)
     
  9. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26
    Ive had a droid 1 since release. I still like blur.
     
  10. GeorgeinLA

    GeorgeinLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    11
    Can someone explain what the difference is? I have a D2, but it's my first Android phone so I have no idea what's Blur and what's Android.
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Has Matt integrated the stock 2.2 contacts app, or is it using the D2 Contacts?
     
  12. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Android is your operating system. Blur from Motorola and Sense from HTC are really just themes that run over that OS. You are still running Android.

    If you're into cars it's kind of like when you hear that 2 different cars have the same engine. Like a Jaguar and a Ford. All Jaguar does is make a few tweaks to make it sound and feel a little different. but it's still the same engine.

    In the case or Blur or Sense, it looks "prettier", but most seem to agree it slows down your phone. Makes it more sluggish and causes freezing and that kind of thing.
    Not always, but it is using up more resources.

    The Motorola Droid (D1), came with Vanilla android. Nothing on it. Just plain android. So that made it the smoothest and fastest phone around.
    It can still hold it's own against these newer phones that have come out.
    So when you see that your d2 looks different than other android phones, that is why.

    Hope that all makes sense.
     
  13. GeorgeinLA

    GeorgeinLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    11
    That's helpful. Two of the people I work with have D1's. To tell the truth, I've put them next to each other and haven't seen much difference, and if Motoblur is slowing down my D2, it sure doesn't seem like it, but then it does also have a faster processor. They're jealous of me just because the keyboard is so much better . . .
     
  14. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Where the D2 will surpass the D1 is carrying a load...when I had my D1 and performed multiple activities (navigation, Pandora, email or web browsing) concurrently, it was easy to bog down the D1 (even overclocked to 1GHz).

    On my D2 I can perform those same activities and the D2 remains "light on its feet" - more than likely it's the doubling of the available memory that is the main helper, and the native 1GHz CPU in the D2 my be handling the load better than the overclocked D1 could.

    Blur is a combination of UI and functional changes to the D2 that are different than the D1...the UI stuff is most obvious in the home screen widgets it offers, particularly social networking widgets. The functional changes include different handling of Facebook/Twitter, etc., syncing (worse handling, unfortunately, as the D2 only allows an "all or nothing" approach), a different, many say less usable contacts app, and a much better (in some people's opinion, including mine) Email app for handling Exchange mail and IMAP/POP accounts.

    Vanilla Android has it's strengths...if I could get a CM6 ROM (built from source, enhanced "stock" ROM) w/the D2 Gallery and the D2 Email app (and possibly the D2 camera SW), I think I'd be perfectly happy. :)

    The D2 as-is works very well for me, however, I use a home screen replacement (Launcher Pro) and don't see/use any of the blur widgets, so I'm not hampered by any of it.
     
  15. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Do you have your d2 OC'd? If so, how high?
     
  16. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    76
    You can't overclock the D2 yet. Only under clocking is available.
     
  17. pool_shark

    pool_shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    541
    I have no lag on my D2 with blur, I like it as is.
     
  18. ComradeQuestion

    ComradeQuestion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    idk if the petition will work but stay vocal on moto forums and such because they clearly know people hated the orginal blur thats why they cleaned it up and refused to call it blur directly but we know what it is.

    Personally i hate blur/sense/ and touchwiz. i love vanilla android and wish these manufacturers would let you turn it off. i understand they want to build brand loyalty but the problem is if you hate it then it just drives away people. but give people the option if i buy a droid incredible and love sense i use it and buy another htc device next. but if i hate it i turn it off and will not be opposed to buying another device by htc.

    and while i know rooting solves these issues as well as launchers it just makes more sense to me to give users the option hopefully they will learn. but thats just my .02
     
  19. Outlaw.99

    Outlaw.99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    34
    I dont mind the Blur... i dont care for the fact that you cant choose Facebook to only sync your phone contacts, but there is an option to sort that keeps the setting until you change it... So its more like they are just stored on the phone for a resource...
     
  20. jamesmce

    jamesmce Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    If I wanted Blur, or Sense I would like the choice to install it, not have it installed for me. I choose Android phones because I like Android...Just plain android. Both Verizon and Manufactures are losing touch with the concept of droid and will soon lose touch with their customers and sales.

    IMO....If you can't make vanilla ice cream right, what makes you want to buy Chocolate ice cream.

    HTC ERIS>DROID>DROID2

    Love the speed of the Droid 2 over the DROID but installed Launcher Pro because I want nothing to do with Blur.
     
  21. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    63
    I use laucherpro plus but still use the blur widgets. They are great!
    I use:
    social network
    Set social status
    calender
    news (im loving how you can set custom feeds!)
     
  22. notreallynuse

    notreallynuse Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually they are really not. I came from the Cliq which is heavily embedded into the phone UI and AOS and we never even got a update because blur. If I still had my cliq I'd still be running AOS 1.5. It was not the business. The authors plan may work.
     
  23. notreallynuse

    notreallynuse Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    The idea is awesome but the implementation is horrible. Blur needs to be more customizable. I do like it better on the droid
     
  24. Outlaw.99

    Outlaw.99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    34
     
  25. notreallynuse

    notreallynuse Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    EXACTLY! I also don't like the whole pull all 6,548,747 of my friends from facebook on my phone. I do however enjoy the status update widget and facebook and twitter activity widgets. That is the main reason I got the my cliq in the first place. Had I know it would have come with side effects I would have opted for something else. Let me roll over to the cliq forum and see if they've gotten their update yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...