Possible Security Issue with new CL14 and Force Closed appSupport


Last Updated:

  1. marcusb

    marcusb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am currently running CL14 stock w/ Open Home (thanks to zefie.. no thanks to sprint) and I wanted to let you security conscious folks know about a security issue I discovered.

    I hit the end button and pulled up my phones lock screen. Decided to test the new emergency dialer and when I pulled that up Open Home had force closed.. when I hit end it returned me to the main screen w/o me entering my combination.

    I assume this could happen w/ any force closed app so although it's a rare issue that something FCs in the background it is possible and is a security issue. Just a heads up.
     

    Advertisement
  2. BirdieMN

    BirdieMN Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sounds like an issue with Open Home. Perhaps it has some compatibility issues with the new ROM.
     
  3. marcusb

    marcusb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not open home. It only force closed as a fluke. I'm saying that any app that brings up a force close box might possibly allow a back door way into your phone.
     
  4. BirdieMN

    BirdieMN Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Have you tried repeating the action to see if it FC again?
     
  5. marcusb

    marcusb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't.. what I am saying is if an app happens to FC in the background before/after you wake it up it is possible to circumvent the lock.
     
  6. Bigjohn

    Bigjohn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    I would report a step by step detail of how this happened to the google/android team.
     
  7. njbianco

    njbianco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ive had that problem with openhome in the past thats why i switched alternative home apps because after 3.6.1 it was unstable for me although i haven't tried 3.7 yet
     

Share This Page

Loading...