Possible signal strength bug?Support


Last Updated:

  1. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    I believe there is a bug in the signal strength indication on the Fascinate, the one that shows the signal strength in -dBm.

    You can see the signal strength of the cell signal on the Menu, Settings, About, Status screen. Or you can place a widget on your Home screen. There are several widgets available, I'm using Mobile Signal Widget.

    I have a network extender, which basically creates a cell tower right in your home. With my Motorola Droid, I used to get signal strengths down to about -50 something and 60's in indicated signal strength. I can hold both of our Fascinates right next to the network extender's antenna and they will read no better than -86 dBm. So far I've seen signal strengths from -86 dBm to -106 dBm (terrible).

    I believe there is a bug in the software (Baseband) on the Fascinate. Previously, I thought the hardware (antenna/radio) wasn't very good, but now it may be software related.

    Has anyone seen a signal strength stronger than -86 dBm on the Fascinate?
     

    Advertisement
  2. burningembers

    burningembers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    26
    Wow, despite showing 3 bars right now, I'm at -96 dBm...what the crap.
     
  3. d1c1ple

    d1c1ple Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    -101 initially after install of widget now reads -91
     
  4. Moonfire

    Moonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    74
    Interestingly, when I first checked, it was also at -86 (4 bars shown). It alternates between [-86, 4 bars] and [-91, 3 bars] for me.
     
  5. gynormus

    gynormus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    22
    anyone know how to disable the notification sound and vibrate when you lose signal? its really loud and annoying in the middle of the night.
     
  6. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    Unfortunately, no.
     
  7. burningembers

    burningembers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    26
    What is this noise you speak of? I lose signal a lot in my basement, but I've never heard any weird noises...
     
  8. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    Kind a trilling sound. A double or triple tone that repeats every 10 seconds or so. It's not any of the Notification tones that are user selectable from the menu. Must be a system tone.
     
  9. Droidable

    Droidable Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    10
    I have been wondering this for a few days now. I will have 5 bars and the lowest it will go is -86dbm. Something is definitely wrong in there. All day i bounce back and forth from -86 to -106 no matter what the signal strength in indicating.
     
  10. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    I have sent an email to Verizon support. Hopefully it gets to the right people there.

    I'm hoping that we can get a baseband update to address this issue.
     
  11. burningembers

    burningembers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yeah, that's an ungodly low dBm strength compared to my previous phones. I mean, CDMA networks tend to be kind of on the low end in my experiences - but that seems a bit egregious.

    However, I haven't had any issues with dropped calls or call quality...so maybe it is nothing.
     
  12. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    I tend to be right at -86dBm
     
  13. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    Then you must be fortunate to be in good signal areas. :cool:
     
  14. Droidable

    Droidable Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    10
    Me either thats why i definitely think theres a bug in the calculation somewhere
     
  15. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    I'm on my Fascinate now, or I would post in the actual email response I got from Verizon customer service.

    Basically the response was that I should contact the developer of the Signal Strength Widget for the problems I am experiencing with the phone. :eek:

    wtf?

    I replied that he didn't understand, and that this needs to get this up to higher technical support personnel.
     
  16. Mazeraski

    Mazeraski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    32
    Yeah, the responder obviously didn't understand what you were talking about.

    My signal has been fluctuating between -96 and -106db, however, I am in an area known for extremely poor signal strength. I'll have to check it when I go to work tomorrow and update it, as there is usually excellent signal there.
     
  17. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    On a semi-related note, I'm wondering what everyone gets for the DL&UL speeds and how much their signal strength number affects this.
     
  18. padrone00

    padrone00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    When we were in the Verizon store they had the Fascinate and the Incredible right next to each other and I pulled up the dBm on both and the Fascinate was way higher. I asked him about it and of course he tried to BS me so I just nodded ok. Just like the Eris, the bug will have no impact on actual reception, it is all about asthetics.
     
  19. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    Makes figuring out which phone has the better radio difficult though. ;)

    One more thing I noticed the other day... the signal fluctuates quite a bit AND it moves in increments of 5's like this:

    -96, -101, -106, -101, -96 dBm. WTF? :confused:
     
  20. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Ditto of course my range is only -86 or -91dBm
     
  21. bradmatic

    bradmatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Standing next to a known VZW tower.. and only reaching four bars when I'm within 100 feet.. I still only max out at -86dBm.

    However.. when I have 'zero' bars (-106) at work.. I can still make and rec calls.
     
  22. euzz

    euzz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put FAS and Droid 1 side by side and compared the signal strength; Droid 1 showed -55dBm while FAS showed -86dBm. Hope it's a bug.

    I also noticed that WiFi signal strength is very different as well. It showed full Wifi bars when I was right next to the Wifi router, but when I went to a different room it lost all bars. (it's only about 20 feet from the Wifi router ... ) Droid 1 still showed 4 bars under the same condition though.

    The problem was FAS actually lost the Wifi connection and changed the mode to 3G.
     
  23. Droidable

    Droidable Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    10
    Its definitely a bug. Ill have 0 bars and be at -106 and my call is still clear and deosnt drop. As long as i still have reception and call clarity it can say whatever it wants. I love VZW's network.
     
  24. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Yeah astute point there. My call quality is always spot on irregardless of what the numbers are reporting
     
  25. tkyleus

    tkyleus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    I also have a Network Extender and range from about -86 to -91 while within about 100 FT of the extender. I have no issues with call quality, so tend to agree with the posts that call it a bug in how signal strength is measured.

    One final note, my SF gets on the network extender almost instantly where my BB Storm 2 took up to 15 minutes to register > Progress!

    Really liking this phone!
     

Share This Page

Loading...