Possible to change 3gp recording video format?General


Last Updated:

  1. toord

    toord Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Folks,

    I tried a few different google searches on the subject and most of the results were about playing different video format, not recording. I'm wondering if there is a way to change the factory default video recording format to something like generic avi or mpeg formats? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Welcome to the forums, Toord.

    You started right off with a toughy for a question here. ;)

    I'm thinking about apps in Market.. there used to be one called something like "videolan" or some name of that nature.

    I'd suggest you go into Market and try searches on a few different terms related to video.

    I'll do that too, perhaps I'll be able to find something for you and I'll post back with it.
     
  3. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    24
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I have not been able to find a video format changer at all in Market. :eek:
     
  5. RuLEoF2

    RuLEoF2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hiroshika...

    I tried the XDA link you provide which directed to another for the .apk download.

    It didn't work. The video camera still records in 3pg.

    Thanks for the tip though. Someone really should find a fix for this. After all, the option to record in "MPEG4" is actually in the settings menu. If anyone knows of a good conversion tool, please pass it on.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. RuLEoF2

    RuLEoF2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK.. actually it does work, BUT, I had to uninstall the original HTC camera app using Titanium BackUp (rooted). Then did the install of the download apk.

    When I tried just doing a straight install, there was no change in the camera.
     

Share This Page

Loading...