• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Possible to remove pre-installed apps without rooting somehow? Android SDK?

Don't think so. I'm an Android noob myself, had an iphone and a blackberry before jumping ship.

There are several launchers out there where you can hide unwanted apps from showing up in app drawer. I use GO Launcher and I hide all the ATT/Samsung bloatware so I don't see them. Also, when you do a reboot of the phone, you can go to app->manage apps-running process and kill a bunch of bloatware related background services.

I'm still patiently waiting for a less confusing rooting method for ATT S2, mainly with the stock kernel and no need to flash using Odin. There's a video posted recently that shows a pretty easy way to root this phone, but the guy put together a custom kernel.

Honestly, I don't think ATT bloatware on this phone is that bad. When I bought my bb9000, it was littered with ATT crapware. Also, they are "kind" enough to let users uninstall 75% of the crapware on S2.

I don't want to root. My phone works just fine as is, except for having extra unused and unwanted apps.

Is there some way to remove them without rooting???

Upvote 0
You can uninstall Qik, I did it on day 1. Mediahub I killed in setting->app->running and I don't see it running unless the phone gets a reboot. Have you tried?

Haha, yeah, only 75% of it. The problem with the bloatware is that Qik, MediaHub, etc, all run in the background, and even if you kill them, then just keep coming back, even though I don't use them at all. That's a waste of resources!

Upvote 0
Don't think so. I'm an Android noob myself, had an iphone and a blackberry before jumping ship.