Possible to use Sony Rachael (Android2.0) or Sense 2.0


Last Updated:

  1. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Would it be possible to load the Sony Rachael Rom on a Droid once root access is available? What about the sense UI once the Android 2.0 version is available. Since the G1 can run the sense, I would guess the latter would be possible.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jolenemae21

    jolenemae21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    5
    What is the difference between what the Droid will come with and Sense UI? I am new to all of this and am thinking about getting the Droid.

    THANKS! :)
     
  3. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
  4. y0da

    y0da New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    95
    Wow... i had absolutely zero interest in even rooting the Droid until I saw this video for the Sense UI. Now I really want that.

    This Video
     
  6. AdamHC

    AdamHC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea Sense UI is really awesome, and the Droid has the processor to run it seamlessly. I think it will come over but I'm worried about how bug free it would be.... Like the resolution of the Droid and it's processor are different different. If you just slap on a Hero ROM would it be able to run or would it need to be modified to supposed the Processor etc?
     
  7. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Good point on resolution. Someone who have to hack it for a higher resolution if possible. Sony Rachael is the same resolution as looks pretty awesome.
     
  8. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Well the hero will be out for Verizon as well. It will be called the Eris, but the hardware isn't as good as the Droid and it won't have 2.0 for 6 months.
     
  9. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    95

    Yeah. I would rather have the better (more fitting to my needs) equipment and just wait for a solution for the UI than to choose the lesser of the phones (for my needs) just to have the UI I want.

    It's only a matter of time before it happens. :)
     
  10. DrDroid

    DrDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't understand why you would replace the Sony's version for the HTC Sense UI. The Sense UI isn't as nice as the Sony's.
     
  11. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    I was referring to replacing the droid vanilla ui.
     
  12. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    If the X3/X10 is gonna have Android 2.0 then it wouldn't be a ton of trouble for someone to port it over since they use the same resolution. Sense will be much more work since it is built on 1.5 and has a smaller resolution, so when increasing the image sizes they will need a lot of touch up otherwise you will get pixelation (sp?). Also the X3/X10 is a GSM phone so the ROM would need to work for a CDMA phone like the Droid. It will most likely happen, prolly not till after the new year though.
     
  13. AdamHC

    AdamHC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well the Hero will be getting 2.0 soon so you could just port over that ROM, but yea the resolution sounds like a problem.

    Sense UI looks awesome, from what ive seen the x10's looks good but i think it loses some functionality and I still think the Sense UI looks better.
     
  14. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Resolution would be the biggest problem, there are soooo many images that would need to be re-sized and touched up in PS or whatever so they don't look all stretched out. I do like Sense, having used it on my G1 for awhile, but I think Rachel is looking a bit more promising. Of course that is really personal preference.
     
  15. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    The resolution difference is a fixed ratio; so all
    they would have to do is resize everything by the same multiple.
     
  16. coronanlime247

    coronanlime247 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am new to androids so please bear with me. (Will be leaving BB and was quite proficient with their OS and putting hybrids on etc. but this seems to be different).

    If you put on a new UI, will that disable the Droids driving features (the navigation and things like that).

    Also, why has google made this aspect so difficult as to change the type of UI you want on your phone. I figure it should be some standard theme type of thing like Blackberry's themes. Is this something that will get changed in the future, or will we always have to figure out which one has the best options and take that (like Rachel's UI over droids UI) and leave some options behind?
     
  17. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    There are many programs that enable you to customize the look of android (ahome, pandahome, etc) with many many themes. What we are talking about is completely new user interfaces developed by phone manufacturers to replace the stock android interface.
     
  18. SugarCoatedTape

    SugarCoatedTape Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Rachael and Sense UIs belong to Sony Ericsson and HTC respectively. It's a bit like trying to get the iPhone OS onto an Android phone...it doesn't seem to me like it's an entirely legal, or at least ethical process to port the entire interface over. It wouldn't stop me or anyone else from doing it, but there's a very good reason that it's not fully endorsed by Google.

    Somebody correct me if I'm wrong on this.
     
  19. AdamHC

    AdamHC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, HTC's Sense UI is done by them to make people get their phones for their UI. If Google wanted to put that onto all of their phones I'm sure they'd have to pay some amount of money to HTC to be able to. Same with Sony's UI.
     
  20. SugarCoatedTape

    SugarCoatedTape Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Let's not forget, though, that Sense and the Rachael UI are essentially very heavy skins of GOOGLE's operating system. I don't think HTC would have the right to ask for royalties from google, although, they put Sense on pretty much every OS they use (WinMo.) So I don't know what the legal situation between HTC and Google would be if Google wanted to spread Sense around.
     
  21. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Looks Like Rachael is 1.5 for now :(
     
  22. racerxe24

    racerxe24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    91
    What about individual widgets. Say I did not want the entire UI but wanted the HTC weather widget? Would that be possible?
     
  23. DGalt

    DGalt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    8
    ^what he said. Anyone know of a widget that's similar to HTC's weather widget?
     
  24. blazingwolf

    blazingwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
  25. AdamHC

    AdamHC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    They don't put Sense on their WinMo devices, they put TouchFLO3D on it. Bot you're right, they like skinning over the OS of their phones and it started with Windows Mobile to make it more touch friendly cause the peeps at Microsoft aren't very smart and didn't give it any touch support or even a UI good looking enough for the 21st Century. Sorry but I still think that if Google did want to they wouldn't be able to put the Sense UI onto all android devices without approval of HTC. Android is open source and all isn't it? HTC can do what they want to it (just means their phone won't be the "google experience"),the Sense UI on the other hand seems like something that is copyrighted and all and can't be taken by anyone. It wouldn't make sense since HTC has put money into making it, then any other company could use it and they didn't put any money or effort into it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...