Possible Un-Root


Last Updated:

  1. Merckle

    Merckle New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I had read some where that you can Un-Root by running the stock RUU, Was wondering if that is true?

    And I have rooted my HTC CDMA Hero! :)

    Another question is I rooted my phone and following the guide and when to back it up. But it said to root the phone then run nandroid. Then flash recovery image. So when sprint comes out with the 1.5 patch or 2.0 will I be able to just run update?

    Or will I need to run the nandroid restore?

    Or will I need to run the Stock RUU?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Merckle

    Merckle New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    101 views and nothing lol.

    Every since I rooted my phone I have been noticing more and more probs with apps. Is anyone noticing this pre rooting?
     
  3. Gambit

    Gambit Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think if you run anything directly from Sprint, like a RUU, you will un-root the phone and run the risk that the fix will close the exploit that was used to root your phone in the first place.

    You will have to wait until someone makes a custom update that is based on whatever Sprint pushes and does not disable root.

    This is my understanding anyway, but this is new to me so take it for what it's worth. :D
     
  4. Penny

    Penny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was a good question one that I had. I hope someone does unroot it successfully just in case we ever need to. I don't want to damage my phone from bad downloads.
     
  5. pdragon

    pdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    19
    Just rooting the phone should not affect anything with how the phone runs. I've rooted mine and done nothing else and the phone is running fine. I only rooted it so I could fix some of the issues listed in the Workaround Sticky thread if they came up.
     
  6. Penny

    Penny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I ever have an issue and need to take it in to have it looked at can they tell that it has been rooted? Guess I should have found this stuff out before rooting.
     
  7. pking

    pking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    They'd likely have to run a terminal and try to 'su' to root to find out. I think that's stepping close to the privacy line in my opinion. It's one thing if you know nothing about your phone and trust a tech to fix it - but in your case, having rooted the phone, it's unlikely you'll be bringing it in for anything other than hardware problems. It might just be me, but if that's the case the software you're running should be none of their business.
     
  8. Alcaron

    Alcaron Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will admit to being a bit confused as to the whole thing.

    My understanding is that the phone's recovery ROM has a check built in to determine if the rom you are trying to flash is signed. hence why we couldn't just extract the rom, modify the permissions, compress it and flash, boom done. But then once you get root access you are able to flash the recovery partition, presumably I thought so among other things you could use whatever ROM you wanted because the new flasher doesn't have the check built int. So at that point, while, yes, you couldn't use the sprint ROM, you wouldn't be "locked out" because you could still flash back to modaco's rom or, whatever. And all it would take to "crack" the official 2.0 would be for someone to extract it, mod the permissions, compress it and boom.

    But it kinda sounds like that might not be the case so I am confused.
     
  9. pking

    pking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    The trouble is it's quite possible (and in fact, likely) that Sprint/HTC would reflash the recovery partition as part of the update.

    There is precedent on this - the GSM Hero was 'fixed' in the same manner, and now anybody on new 'official' firmware first has to downgrade to an older signed release in order to be able to root.

    Sprint/HTC would have to be really clever (and probably quite unwise) to block you from flashing an older signed firmware, so it's likely that the signed RUU floating around can be used to the same effect if they do indeed reflash the recovery bootloader.
     
  10. Alcaron

    Alcaron Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well even so that just leaves us with extracting the update, modding permissions/changing recovery section, compressing it and flashing right?
     
  11. pking

    pking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    That should be the just of it. There may be some other steps like changing the SHA1 digest list for the modified files, but should be relatively easy.

    Modifying it will break the signature however, so you won't be able to load it on top of the stock recovery image, you'll still need to have a custom recovery bootloader in place.
     
  12. Alcaron

    Alcaron Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which, correct me if I'm wrong, but if you've rooted it and flashed a recovery on the stock 1.5 you would.
     
  13. Merckle

    Merckle New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. pking

    pking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0

    That's right. There'd be a couple of hoops to jump through if you happened to be coming from a newer un-rooted firmware (ie, if you bought it that way, some time in the future), but that'd just be a downgrade to 1.5 -> root -> install custom recovery -> install newest rooted version.
     
  15. Penny

    Penny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, so I went back to the Sprint RUU everything is as it was when I pulled it out of box except I did the firmware update. I didn't however install a flash recovery image was I supposed to or is that only for rooted phones?
     
  16. Aldo Junior Ao2

    Aldo Junior Ao2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    65
    Yes download the RUU http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=586258 and run it it will revert you back to an unrooted phone just like you got it out of the box. You did not need to to have flash the recovery image. But it is a good idea to have it. When you run the Ruu all your personal files will be gone and you have to input your info again. Very easy just RUU,UPDATE, and the root again. When you root please flash a recovery image so you can backup your stuff incase you need to do this all over again. Another thing you can do is flash a recovery image and flash this rom [ROM] 11/19/09-0.4 | fresh rom | Built off Updated Sprint Base! - xda-developers which has the update. This will make it so you don't lose anything and don't need to revert.
     
  17. ElAguila

    ElAguila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes the RUU "un-roots" the phone. I ran the ruu and then updated with the MR. I was then able to root my phone again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...