Post 2.2 factory reset: Backup Assistant?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Markus729

    Markus729 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    31
    I have just been updated to Froyo this morning, and a LOT of threads talk about backing up your phone and doing a factory reset.

    A Verizon tech installed Backup Assistant onto my phone when he transferred my old contacts to my Incredible, and I see it running in the background all the time. Is this enough for my 'backup' when i do a factory reset?

    I don't see an actual app or anything. Thanks in advance for the help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Google will sync your contacts (as long as you saved them as google contacts) and appbrain will save your app list. I don't have much faith in VZW's backup assistant. I think it actually costs to use back-up assistant??
     
  3. Markus729

    Markus729 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    31
    The tech at Verizon and the website, says its FREE with the service. So I assume Appbrain is an, um, app I need to get at the Market? Duh?

    ALSO, you only mention contacts and apps. What about camera images/photos/videos?
     
  4. SpinDisc

    SpinDisc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yes, Backup Assistant is free. And yes, Appbrain App Market can be downloaded from the Android Market.

    Follow this guide to back-up your contacts/apps/texts: Back-up (Almost) Everything Before RUU/Factory Reset

    As for camera images/photos/videos, check to see if they're saved to your SD card (open an image/photo/video > Menu > More > Details). If so, they're protected from a factory reset. If not, then you'll need something like Astro (also available in the Market), and move them to your SD card.

    Hope this helps.
    Spin
     
    Markus729 likes this.
  5. Markus729

    Markus729 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    31
    YES, THANK YOU for your link and post. This rocks. :p I happened across it earlier and printed and will follow it. I downloaded AppBrain, got it all set up and I'm good to go. :)
     
  6. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Only problem i see with that is with astro i cant access the pictures on my internal memory, can't see the dcim folder at all. If that is the case for the OP then you will have to use PC to transfer them.
     
  7. Markus729

    Markus729 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    31
    I downloaded Astro and while it is amazing to see all the directories, I've looked in what seems every one, and I can't see where my photos are located. Any codebreaking I need to decipher?

    I see the detail of one of my more recent photos, and the filepath says: \100MEDIA, but when i search this path on Astro, it comes up with nothing...:confused:
     
  8. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    DCIM.

    As for backing up, try MyBackUp, also available in the Market. That's by far my favorite utility for backing up everything, including bookmarks, homescreen, dictionary, alarms, etc. So useful I actually paid for it! :eek:
     
    Markus729 likes this.
  9. Markus729

    Markus729 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    31
    BINGO. I had found a DCIM but it was empty (on the SDCard), but I found another DCIM in the /emmc/DCIM/100MEDIA and found them all. So copied the whole DCIM folder on the phone, and pasted to the SDcard and now everything is backed up and I'm ready for a factory reset.

    BTW, this forum rocks!!!

    THANKS!!
     
  10. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    Happy to help, enjoy the new phone and FroYo!
     
  11. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598

    Been looking for where those have been hiding!!
    I feel dumb now, lol
    Your right, this forum does rock!!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...