Post your Speed Test results here!


Last Updated:

  1. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    I think it would be nice to get a collection of speed tests/location of speed test results to see how backhaul is progressing.

    My Speed tests on my Dell Streak in Fremont, CA using a hacked modem is getting 1.9 down, 1.2 up (thats 3g though) Will post 4g tests in a bit to compare

    on a side note, how do the servers you connect to work? I get faster speeds when i connect to LA (350 miles away) than i do palo alto (30 miles away)
     

    Advertisement
    miran007 likes this.
  2. g_patrick15

    g_patrick15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    62
    Is this official?
     
  3. harlenm

    harlenm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    7
    Will be curious if anyone in an improved backhaul area gets faster upload speeds.

    On a side note, my iPhone got 2.2 down, 1.3 up a little while ago, which is about average for me here in CT.
     
  4. Edge1978

    Edge1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    Not to sound like a nooB but seeing I am "semi" new to Android, what app can I use to tell me the speed?
     
  5. AndreaCristiano

    AndreaCristiano Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    222
    Speedtest. I haven't tested mine but its loading fast! I can't wait till the backhaul launches
     
    mattbe213 likes this.
  6. lsutigers03

    lsutigers03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    42
    My first speed test was slower than my iphone. 1100 down and 200 up
     
  7. kb58

    kb58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    18
    You download it through your "Market" app, on the main screen.

    Just tried mine (Wifi off) and got 1.7M down and 307k up.

    Tried it a second time and got 2.5M down and 326 up!
     
  8. Edge1978

    Edge1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    i got 1590 down and 149 up
     
  9. antioch216

    antioch216 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    14
    here is just a reference to compare against:

    iPhone 3G in Central Texas

    ping: 88ms Down: 4.61 mbps Up: .61mbps
     
  10. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    I dont have a 4g plan yet on my employee line so i had to do a custom APN to connect to data. I think im still on 3g,

    but in my store (no 3g microcell) i am getting average 2.5 mbs down/ 400kbs up with about 100 ping
     
  11. harlenm

    harlenm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    7
    Which is exactly what you'd expect with hsupa being disabled.
     
  12. kb58

    kb58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hmmm, okay, so what must be done to correct the situation? The "H+" and both arrows do appear.
     
  13. harlenm

    harlenm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    7
    Root the phone and install a rom that doesn't have it disabled.

    Edited to add, it's just the upload speeds that are the prolem. Your download speeds are fine, just don't have the improved backhaul for "4g" speeds yet.
     
  14. PSXBatou

    PSXBatou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    I wonder if that H+ icon ever actually changes to something else?
     
  15. antioch216

    antioch216 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    14
    the H+ means there is a 4G connection AVAILABLE. An up and down arrow means you're connected to it.

    AT&T has stated that anywhere you can receive a 3G signal, you'll also get 4G (H+)
     
  16. PSXBatou

    PSXBatou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    But does that icon change? I am curious what happens when I take this phone to Tokyo in a few weeks, if I get the H+ logo considering neither of the providers I will roam with (NTT, Softbank) have a 4G backhaul network that I know of that will seem a bit odd.

    I would be curious if like on my old iPhone I could switch 3G on and off, a toggle switch for 2/3/4G so I can compare speeds.

    I've never seen the icon change from H+ but I do live in a major metro area so maybe its telling the truth :p
     
  17. Zonker1

    Zonker1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    15
    These speeds don't look any better than my captivate running a 2.2 rom.
     
  18. mwiles629

    mwiles629 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't want to get off topic. But I did notice the shaded up down arrow means 4G is available (which mine shows). How do I get it to connect?
     
  19. antioch216

    antioch216 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    14
  20. harlenm

    harlenm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    7
    They probably won't until 3/1.

    As it stands now, it's much slower up compared to an iphone4 due to the disabled hsupa.
     
  21. PSXBatou

    PSXBatou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    What's on 3/1?
     
  22. Faramir82

    Faramir82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll do a speedtest once my battery charges.
     
  23. mwiles629

    mwiles629 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    It does change. I seen mine switching between networks. I saw an (E) for a few seconds. I live in rural area. I found out the arrows only show in white when data is being received or sent.
     
  24. harlenm

    harlenm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    7
    That is the date that keeps getting posted of when the "4g" network is being turned on.
     
  25. KenG10

    KenG10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    2880 down 380 up. I'm in buffalo ny
     

Share This Page

Loading...