1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Power Control Widget in Notification Tray?


Last Updated:

  1. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    I tried searching for a thread on this, but if there's a duplicate thread, I apologize.

    I have an EVO, and I love it, but I saw on someone's Droid (I think) that they had a power control widget in their notification tray, rather than as a widget on one of the home screens.

    Any way I can get this for my EVO?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Its probably an app. There is an app called Power Control, could be that.
     
  3. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    There are a few apps out there that will create an ongoing notification that, when opened, will display power controls in a new window. It's not quite the same. I'd recommend quickdesk before using one of those, but you can give it a shot.

    However, if you have root, you're in luck. You have three options:
    1) flash CM 6.1. This has exactly what you're looking for, but you'll be switching to AOSP, and will lose 4g and HDMI
    2) flash a MIUI rom, which, in addition to not having 4g and HDMI, is quite a bit different than anything else out there.
    3) stick with any Sense based rom, don't lose any functionality, and flash this or a rom that already has it added:

    [PORT][MOD][OFFICIAL] Notification Menu Power Control Widgets for Sense based ROMs - xda-developers

    it's basically the notification controls from CM 6.1 that JsChiSurf from xda ported over to sense based roms.
     
  4. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    Oohhhh, thank you, that looks like EXACTLY what I want. Hhmmmmm, I've not flashed a ROM before, but now am curious to try...
     
  5. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
  6. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    Oh yes, sorry, should've said I'm already rooted, but I'll look into that too. Doesn't look too difficult, basically put the ZIP file in the CD card's root directory and load it from the recovery screen, right?
     
  7. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    You should read the whole thread/section, but here's the short version:

    1) put whatever you want to flash, whether it be a rom or mod, on the root of your sd card (you *can* put it anywhere on the sd card if you're using clockwork, but why bother)
    2) backup apps/app data with something like titanium backup
    3) make a nandroid backup from recovery of your current rom so that you can get back to where you are now
    4) back in recovery, wipe cache, dalvik cache, and data
    5) flash the rom from recovery (it will be a zip file)
    6) reboot phone.

    Always wipe data before switching roms. You can get your apps/app data back from the titanium backup. If you're upgrading a rom, flashing a theme, or adding a mod in general, you can probably get away with wiping cache/dalvik cache.
     
    Brian Rubin likes this.
  8. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    Aaahhh, very cool. I think I'll try it when I have a free night. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...