• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Power Saving Features

Hey gang,

I'm new to this Smartphone world and am loving my Android so far! However, I'm not used to the amount of power this Galaxy S2X consumes! I've been making sure that Wi-Fi is off when I'm not using it and stuff like that, but can you share tips on the best power saving features? I also notices that you can choose the power saving feature in one of the settings on the phone. Is that worth it?

Thanks for your input!

Hi and welcome to the forum!

The SIIX is a bit of a pig on the battery, mosty due to the large screen, but also due to the 1500MHz CPU.

EDIT: Using the power saving feature that is built in won't do much until the battery reaches the critical level set in it. You can turn GPS, Data and WiFi off when not used, but manual manipulation is a pain after a while. Option 1 below solves this issue. /EDIT

Your best bet to saving power are the following...

1) Use Juice Defender (JD for short). I used the free version for a few months and loved it. Once I was comfortable with the features I paid for the Ultimate version and created a power profile that suited my needs. My battery goes for more than one day with regular use and I can get 2 days out of it with light use.

2) Screen brightness - Set it to automatic. If you use JD then you can customize the auto feature.

3) Autosync - There are several apps that autosync and consume power by using Data or WiFi. Change the autosync settings, or turn them off completely. I don't autosync anything. Go to Settings -> Accounts and sync

4) E-Mail - It is an item of debate, some say pulling in e-mail every 15 minutes eats battery, others don't. I have 3 POP accounts that are set to pull the full e-mail in every 15 minutes. Since I don't autosync other items, this seems to have no ill effect on my battery.