Power supply pop upSupport


Last Updated:

  1. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33
    has anyone gotten a pop up stating something to the effect of "this power supply is not compatible with your device, unplug to avoid damage to your device" ??
    i just got this message...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Bundy

    Bundy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    44
    What charger are you using? I've used a few different chargers - BlackBerry, Motorola car charger, Arkon car charger (cigarette lighter dock), USB to PC - and have never gotten a warning.

    I did see something similar on my BlackBerry when I tried to use a cheap charger I bought on Ebay - something I'll never do again.
     
  3. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    Sounds like you charger is sending either the wrong voltage, wrong current, or wrong polarity.

    If its the Verizon charger take it back to the store.

    If it a china knock off throw it out.

    If its your computer USB, that means you might have a motherboard power supply issue.

    These three should be weighed against the possibility that your phone is defective.
     
  4. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33
    I know one thing, i have my phone set so perfect...i dont think i even want Froyo!! :)
    but...its a usb cord plug to my phone going to a lil cheap cigarette adapter plugged into the car. probably will never use it again as it scared me into buying a new home/car/and usb cord off ebay :)
    worst case scenario, i have insurance and a warranty.
     
  5. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    Yeah, the voltage regulator in the cigarette adapter is probably bad.

    Most likely didn't hurt your phone :)
     
    aleis likes this.
  6. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    134
    WHen running Pandora and Google Nav at the same time and using a 1amp car charger, a message popped up telling me to hook it to an AC outlet because the charger wasn't supplying enough power. It works fine as long as you don't have everything on including screen brightness turned way up.
     
  7. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    Sounds like the car charge is bad. most wall chargers only supply .5 amps which is the USB standard. (I'm pretty sure that's what the included one is)
     
  8. KimchiBoi

    KimchiBoi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got this message when using a monoprice car charger + usb cable. Few hours later, my battery fried and I've been without a phone for a few days now. Went to a verizon store and they didn't have any spare ones in the back, so I've been waiting for them to overnight me one (which should be coming in later today).
     
  9. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33

    this makes me very very scared...:(
    what did u tell them (or not tell them) to get u another battery??
     
  10. KimchiBoi

    KimchiBoi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    They didn't really ask any questions. I just told them I think my battery was fried and the employee used his battery to see if it was a battery problem. It was, and so they ordered me a new one.
     
  11. deanq4

    deanq4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    what was the ratings on the one from monoprice? i used mine and did not get the message.

    The one I got is a 5v 1000mA and seems to works fine.
     
  12. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    134
    It's a belkin flush mount. It says it's 1 amp but it might not be putting out that much. I was also using a retractable charge only cable. I'm not sure if charge only cables do anything wierd on this phone. I like it because it works well with my Mifi.
     

Share This Page

Loading...