1. 2015 is going to be a great year for Android! Why wait??
    Samsung Galaxy Note 5 | Samsung Galaxy S6 | HTC One M9
  2. New Forum Created: Samsung Gear VR!

Predictive optionsGeneral

1. DWadeson

DWadeson Member

Hi

Just done a software upgrade on s3 and the predictive text settings have either changed or are hiding elsewhere.....personal dictionary, option to set how many characters it guesses what word you are typing - probably others too but I'm very new to this phone so probably don't realise they've gone. All I get now in the predictive settings window is options about using personalisation.

Any ideas/advice? Are they hiding somewhere else??

Many Thanks

Advertisement
    :
  2. davidmanvell

davidmanvell Well-Known Member

Are you using the stock keyboard that came with the phone or a replacement app like swiftkey?
  3. DWadeson

DWadeson Member

I'm just using the one on the phone - haven't downloaded any. It was all fine until the software upgrade this morning.
  4. davidmanvell

I dont use the default keyboard so haven't looked at the settings for it. hopefully someone else on here can.

I use swiftkey and it works really well.
  5. DWadeson

DWadeson Member

Thanks. There was also an option you could set where you could choose how many characters you put in before it started to predict the word. So frustrating that the whole lot seems to have disappeared! I have contacted Samsung by email so hope to hear back from them soon.
  6. GTWalling

GTWalling Well-Known Member

On my phone I go into Settings/Language and input/Samsung keyboard.
    Tap the gear to the right.
  7. Heisenberg123

Heisenberg123 Well-Known Member

i was reading this so dont quote me but apple won a lawsuit so the pretictive text like in ICS where it just picked the word it thought you meant was removed it still gives you choices as your starting to type, just tap the word you want

but the auto replace/pretictive part or pretictive text was lost on the 4.1.1 update
  8. mikes1