Prepaid Phone as Android powered music player

1. dchrist21

dchrist21 New Member

OK, let me lay some background info by letting everyone know that I have no experience with any android devices or anything similar. That's why I'm asking for help from those of you with some first-hand knowledge.

My current MP3 player is a 20GB iPod 3G that I bought used in 2005. It still works fine but it uses a mechanical hard drive, so it tends to skip if I want to use it while exercising. I was looking at buying a 32GB refurbed iPod Touch as a replacement. After doing a bit more research, I see I can get a lower-end android phone for about the same price (Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V).

My goal is to have an iPod Touch-like device, possibly with GPS functions but with no recurring monthly charges. So I would buy the device, but not buy minutes or pay for a monthly plan. All of my "data" usage would be via WiFi.

How much of this is possible, ie., how many android apps/features require the device to be an active phone and how much hassle is it to make a device work in this manner. If it's possible, are some devices better suited to this task than others? For example, would I be better off buying a used verizon Droid...

Thanks for any advice and personal experiences.

-Dylan

Advertisement
  2. dchrist21

dchrist21 New Member

Ok, so I didn't get much feedback from folks here, but I did go ahead with this idea and here's what I learned...

First, I bought an LG Optimus V (Virgin Mobile) from Best Buy. I also bought a $25 prepaid card, but I haven't used it yet.

When I got home I charged up the battery and got it online with my home wifi. Browser, Gmail, Email, Youtube all worked great...basically everything that needed a data connection worked right out of the box. And I still haven't even activated the phone.