Preventing Screen Lock and Reducing Keystrokes?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Johnny Cakes

    Johnny Cakes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    68
    Is it possible to prevent the screen from locking? Right now, I have to wake the phone, then unlock the screen. Waste of time.

    Also, it is a minimum five key press to make a call. Wake > Unlock > Dialer > Favorites > Person. Is it possible to have one-touch calling from the home screen?
     

    Advertisement
  2. CaptFan

    CaptFan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    For making quick calls I use BetterCut to put a short cut to a contact on one of my home screens. All I have to do is go to that screen and press the shortcut. Works pretty slick at least for me.
     
  3. dkjones96

    dkjones96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    7
    You can put a shortcut to a contact on the home screen without any programs.
     
  4. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    Yes you can but it is still four keystrokes technically. You can always open the phone hit call and then dial but really not a faster way without an app from the marketplace. I have seen a couple but can't remember the names off the top of my head. Sorry!
     
  5. psparky

    psparky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Johnny Cakes - 100% agree. There really needs to be an option to disable the screen lock. I've looked around for an app, but no luck.

    re: dialing contact- check out aTakephone. It was an essential on my old Centro. Once you assign your favorites, you'll be able to make a call in 4 presses. (wake-screen unlock-green button-contact/number)

    k
     
  6. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111

    You can do this without an app. shortcut the contact to your home screen and then press the number you wish to call.
     
  7. psparky

    psparky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, but Takephone will let you assign a specific phone number to a shortcut (instead of having to go the contact and choose which number to dial). Saves you an extra press.

    k
     
  8. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    It still takes four presses which would be the same without. I only suggest no app to do it because if I don't need the app for something I don't get it.

    Wake>Unlock>contact shortcut>number

    still four presses to add the contact straight to the home page. If takephone lets the dial this number straight from the home page then it is only 3 presses and then yes it is slightly quicker.

    Sorry, I really don't mean to bicker. I am all about giving more options is all.
     
  9. psparky

    psparky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah. I see. You're right. You do have to go into the app (takephone) to launch a shortcut. That would be 4.

    It'd be nice if Anycut worked.

    k
     
  10. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    What would be nice also is if instead of having to wake the phone you could wake and activate the dialer via the voice button on the side and by default it opens your favorites. That would certainly be shorter. Two presses...
     
  11. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    What would be nicer is to be able to push the button on my BT headset for 2 secs then command call so-and-so and a few seconds later so-and-so and I are having a conversation. Even if the supplied wired headset could wake the phone then allow the call command (which it does after waking and unlocking the screen).
     
  12. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    Hopefully this is something addressed by 2.0 or samsung once an MR is released for this phone.
     
  13. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    I had a Droid for about 24 hrs and it didn't work in 2.0 either.
     
  14. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    How many calls are you making that this becomes a hassle?

    For me it's very quick and simple to do the steps, for the few phones I have to actually make. Most of the time I'm texting / emailing.

    Remember, this is a mini-computer first and a phone second. Most cheap flip phones will outshine this phone from a phone usage perspective, but there is no way I'm giving up this phone to go back to a crappy simple phone.
     
  15. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yeah, but I only have to move my mouse or press a key on my puter to wake it up and start using it. Not so with this phone--you have to wake it up by pressing the red button, then unlock the screen to be able to do anything.
     
  16. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    That's because you don't stuff your computer in your pocket and then expect to press a key to start doing stuff. If you did, there would be safeguards built into the wake process to make sure you didn't accidentally press keys and start doing things you didn't mean to LOL.

    Oh my computer my users are password protected so I have to type in my passwords to be able to get back in and doing stuff.

    There's a tradeoff between making sure no accidental actions / calls happen with the phone, versus making it really simple to do something.

    If it was a flip phone like a razr, simply flip open the phone and you can start using it.

    With my old Palm Centro & Blackberries, I'd have to click a button to wake the device up and get to the password promp, enter my password, and then start calling. Nothing is simple as just clicking a button on these smart phones.

    The Samsung Moment calling process is very easy, and ergonomic:

    (1) Press the end call button, (2) move my finger just a few mm's to the Menu button and tap it, and then (3) move my finger a few mm's to the call button and press it. Then I choose either dial pad or contacts to call.

    It takes me virtually no effort because the buttons I want to hit are so close, and my muscle memory already is trained in a few hours. Once you have the simple movment down it's almost like a symphony.

    I can't see how it can be simpler than this. On top of this it has a very good voice command button, where if I'm patient and lazy I can press it and just tell it what to dial. Overall the calling process is actualy simpler than my Blackberry and my Centro.

    PS - on all phones with an exposed keyboard or touch screen, it will ALWAYS be a minimum of 3 or more key strokes to dial or do something:

    1) a button to wake the phone up and turn on the screen
    2) another button or touch to validate that you actually want to unlock the phone for use, and that it's not just an accidental bump
    3) a call button to start the call process if it's not a dedicated simple phone.
    4) dial #'s or choose contact to call

    I don't see how the above process can be abbreviated in any way without undermining the reliability of the phone not to make accidental calls (and to save battery life by turning off the screen when not in use).
     
  17. bnash972

    bnash972 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    As mentioned above, BetterCut is the way to go. The default android short cut only brings up a contact, you have to press again to actually dial that contact.

    Better cut allows direct dial with one push from the desktop. So ...Red Button > Menu > Short cut...and you're connected.

    BetterCut also allows has a direct texting short cut and all kinds of toggles(wifi, Bluetooth, etc). AnyCut is the free version...but it's outdated and does not work on the Moment.
     
  18. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    There are actually folks that use a pattern unlock besides?????
     
  19. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ive really got to agree with everything AndroidSPCS said. I dont believe the steps involved in making a call are too much.

    That said, put me down for someone that wants one touch BT voice commands available from the headset as well.
     
  20. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    With the screen locked by shutting it off automatically every 30 seconds or so, stuffing it in a pocket isn't going to do anything. On the other hand, my touch Diamond was constantly making unwanted phone calls from my nipples touching the screen through my shirt. But I think once you've pulled it out of your pocket and woke up the screen, the need to push the menu button is superflous. To each his own :)
     
  21. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a "shake to wake" app? If there isnt, there should be. That would help cut down on unwanted button presses to access the phone and would be fool proof, short of riding on a Harley or a washing machine. ;)
     
  22. psparky

    psparky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    But if I'm working at my desk all day with the phone sitting right in front of me, why would I need the screen locked? Over the course of a day that's a lot of unnecessary presses. The screen-lock needs to be an option you can enable/disable.

    k
     
  23. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    The screen goes dark to save battery power.

    If you're at work with your phone sitting in front of you, most likely you have a landline you can just pick up and dial LOL.

    If you do use your cell phone all day either you'll get saturated with radiation or your battery will have a very short lifespan. ;)
     
  24. Johnny Cakes

    Johnny Cakes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    68
    I've gone to "Screen Timeout NEVER" to avoid this problem, which means I have had to disable GPS to balance battery usage.
     
  25. masbirdies

    masbirdies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    when sleeping and I slide open the keyboard....there is no requirement to press the menu button. It goes straight to homescreen
     

Share This Page

Loading...