• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Probably a n00b question about installing.

dq9

Dec 26, 2010
I am still a noob about things on the Android so sorry if I'm not all there.

I was wondering if there is a way to install apps to my SD card without rooting my phone.

Also if I have to root my phone, will Verizon be able to see that I did and will they be mad about it?

You will need Android 2.2, don't know if the Ally has that yet. This will make your default location the SD card so everything from that point on will get installed there. And you'll want to watch that Widgets and Services get moved back to the phone. Those shouldn't run from the SD card.

How to Install Apps to the SD Card by Default on Android 2.2 Froyo | larsa | Androinica

Verizon or any other carrier doesn't care. It make no difference from their point of view.

Upvote 0
You will need Android 2.2, don't know if the Ally has that yet. This will make your default location the SD card so everything from that point on will get installed there.

To clarify for other new users, this is not correct.

Installation to SD card needs to be allowed by the app developer. I believe the option to install to SD card by default also depends on the app.

You should not assume all apps will install on the SD card. They won't.

Upvote 0
To clarify for other new users, this is not correct.

Installation to SD card needs to be allowed by the app developer. I believe the option to install to SD card by default also depends on the app.

You should not assume all apps will install on the SD card. They won't.[/QUOTE]

If you follow the link provided, you can see that you can indeed set the default install location to the SD card, provided you have performed the steps correctly and it will also permit moving older apps to the SD card that previously weren't able to be moved there.