Problem after rooting - installing ROM


Last Updated:

  1. bucketheadmn

    bucketheadmn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    14
    So I was able to get my phone rooted just fine with the super one click method. The problem I ran into though was installing a new ROM - going through the initial set up I was not able to see any any of the text that I was typing. Trying to set up my Google account was impossible because the email field just stayed blank no matter how many times I would press a letter.

    Now I had this same problem months ago when I tried rooting before, and just like this time I did try installing the ROM a couple of times. However, after it not working I gave up and installed the Sprint Stock RUU.

    Any thoughts or ideas why my phone would do this? I have done a bit of searching and could not find any other postings of this sort.
     

    Advertisement
  2. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    What rom where you trying to install -
    Its possible that a few months ago it was one with a bug or something.

    If you like sense - Try Liquid sense - or NFX
    If you don't care for sense - try AOSP- nonsense or Cm6
     
  3. bucketheadmn

    bucketheadmn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    14
    I thought it was a bug with the ROM a few months ago, but it happened with 3 different ROMS.

    The ROM I tried last week was Liquid Sense - the one with Sense and all the Sprint bloatware removed.
     
  4. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Try Skipping the google set up . Go into the rom and see if your text shows up elsewhere.
    Maybe it just need a chance to stretch its legs.

    If it works - click on the market then you can go back into your google set up.
     
  5. bucketheadmn

    bucketheadmn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    14
    This does not make sense to me. I guess I would think that seeing text as you type in a ROM is something that would work right away and not need time to start working.
     
  6. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Roms can take time to "settle in" and everyone's phones are different and can handle different things.

    Did you do a full Data Wipe/ Cache Wipe and Davlik wipe before flashing the Roms?
     
  7. bucketheadmn

    bucketheadmn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    14
    Last week when trying this I used ROM Manager and did select the options to wipe everything before loading. I also had loaded up a recovery image in order to do a nandroid, but in the end just ended up using the Sprint Release to flash back to stock.
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    IMO, I would not 'use' the rom manager application to flash roms. I would always use the recovery menu of ClockworkMod v2.5.0.1 to flash roms. You either get to the recovery screen by pressing 'reboot into recovery' or turn off the phone then press the volume down and the red power button. By using the recovery screen, you can see what has/hasn't been wiped. You can install the zip file from there
     
  9. jammimaster

    jammimaster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did rooting you HTC hero wipe your texts and contacts? thanks
     
  10. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Rooting Won't Wipe either -
    Flashing a new Rom will Wipe both - you have to wipe data to flash a Rom.
    But Contacts will be restored when you sign into google.
     

Share This Page

Loading...