Problem connecting to ATT to check for updateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mmoffitt9241

    mmoffitt9241 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've tried to connect to ATT 4 or 5 times over the last week to check for updates and it always tells me that the communication failed. I've tried it on both wifi and 3g. Of course every time I try I have to wait for another 24 hours before I can try again...I'm running the stock operating system with the OTA update, rooted and Lagfix...

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    A search of the forum disclosed this:

    From the Home screen, press the Menu button and select Settings.
    1. Select Application, then Manage Applications
    2. Press the Menu button, then Filter, then select Running.
    3. Scroll down the list and select Device management.
    4. Under the Storage section, press the Clear data button.
    5. Power your phone off, then back on.

    See if it works for you. If not, there's another method that requires root and can be found here:

    Software Updates - CapFAQ
     
  3. Infinite-t

    Infinite-t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    74
    If you are running JH7 already, there is no new update. you are not missing anything. When an update comes, you will know it because there will be like 50 identical posts about it here, it will be all over the web, AT&T will send you a notice, etc.

    If you feel the need to check every day, then try what jack re-posted. If you want to try several times a day, manually change your date one day ahead each time you check. It will work for about 14 times. But then you will have to wait like a week.:eek:
     
  4. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    :D
     
  5. mmoffitt9241

    mmoffitt9241 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried the first method and still got the same communication error. Then I went to try the second method. I don't have ADB, but tried to navigate to the dbdata folder using Astro (file manager). I got to that directory fine but there was no files or other directories there...it was just an empty folder.

    Any other ideas?:mad:
     
  6. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Is your phone rooted?
     
  7. GreatBigDave

    GreatBigDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have to admit I have always had errors trying to do updates via wifi. 3G worked for me. Perhaps it's an attempt on AT&T's part to force us to go over our data plans (for those of us who have a limit).

    No, I don't actually believe it, if that's the case then AT&T is far more intelligent far earlier in the day than I'm willing to admit.
     
  8. mmoffitt9241

    mmoffitt9241 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    I finally got it to work. Used the first method above but had to remove the battery after turning off the phone. When I reinstalled the battery and turned it back on, I was able to get the "no updates" available from ATT instead of the communication error. So at least on my phone, the battery was the key...

    Thanks for everyone's help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...