problem installing ROMs


Last Updated:

  1. algershick

    algershick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm moderately computer savy, I came from a HTC Diamond WM 6.x phone and flashed ROMs on a regular basis. However, attempting this with my new Evo has me stumped!

    I am successfully rooted using Toasts method. I have Clockwork recovery installed and I'm in it. I do a wipe through recovery, try to install my ROM (Fresh's ROM) through the root of my SD, and I get nothing! When I reboot, it's just the standard root rom factory reset.

    Am I missing something?
     

    Advertisement
  2. robg2008

    robg2008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    17
    can you say exactly what steps you are doing when you get to recovery mode?
    i feel the problem would have to be with something done on the recovery mode
     
  3. algershick

    algershick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I get to recovery, I select to wipe and factory reset the device/ cache etc. Then I navigate through the menus to install a zip from my SD. I downloaded Fresh's .2 and have it on the root of the SD card. I select it. The background changes as it should like whats documented online, it says its opening the package, then it goes back to the recovery menu without completing. I select to reboot just to see if it flashed, no dice. I've tried this 4 different times with no result.

    I even tried using my root-PC3whatever.zip and I get the same result.

    Any suggestions? Can I undo my root and start over, perhaps that would solve my issue?
     
  4. Emrys

    Emrys Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm having this same problem! Could it be because I got the Sprint OTA update? But in the tutorials it said that it would still work on that.
     
  5. algershick

    algershick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I un-rooted and am starting over right now following a tutorial on XDA, I'll report back whether it worked or not.
     
  6. Emrys

    Emrys Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
  7. algershick

    algershick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still the same result after a reflash of the stock ROM to un-root, and starting over from scratch. I don't get it. I'm going to try to flash a different ROM and see if I get anywhere...
     
  8. algershick

    algershick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [UPDATE]

    I flashed a differed ROM (Bugless Beast] posted over at XDA and it looked like it flashed correctly, but now I'm stuck in a boot loop...


    [UPDATE II]
    I restored again and the Bugless Beast ROM is working! What is up with the Fresh ROM? I absolutely cannot get this one flashed.
     
  9. algershick

    algershick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another wipe, another attempt to flash Fresh, and it worked. I don't know what the deal was, I really don't think I did anything different on any of these attempts. Running the ROM now, everything is working as it should!
     

Share This Page

Loading...