Problem reading from SD after rooting


Last Updated:

  1. back2russia

    back2russia New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a mytouch 3g 1.2 3.5mm jack.

    I first rooted this phone from the xda developers site using univeral androot.
    the root was super easy.

    i think proceeded to install cyanogen 5.17.

    it put android 2.1 on my phone, which i LOVED dearly.

    then I discovered that I did something wrong because my earpiece wasnt working.

    so I went back in. restarted with down vol button and power and installed a different sappimg.zip file. i figured that would set it back to the way it was. it did not.

    After it installed I restarted and my heart sank when I saw the vodafone logo. I have tmobile, mind you. then I got an HTC magic boot screen, and I had a mytouch 3g. It loaded the operating system, but the touchscreen was disabled so I never got to do anything with it.

    I, at this point, assumed I had bricked the phone, but I refused to let go, so I kept messing with it. I went and bought a card reader for my PC and used that to put a different [factory] sappimg.zip file on my card.

    I then installed that and everything was back to normal, like it was before I rooted and installed cyanogen.
    so fine, I had a phone again, so I just left it alone.

    but now when I turn on my phone, it says "SD card removed. insert a new one" in the notification area. my card is in the phone, and i have reformatted and done a master reset both ways,ect. its not the card thats messed up.

    If I do a vol down+power boot, i can still update from things that are on the card, so I know the phone can read from the card, just not once the android system boots.

    not only that but I think I've lost my bluetooth as well, but I dont really use bluetooth at all, so its not a huge deal if I never get that fixed.

    So heres what I want to do.

    I want to reflash my phone using a different sappimg.zip file so it will recognize my SD card.

    As of now, I cannot root seeing as how the phone needs to recognize the SD card for that.

    If I could gain root access without using an SD card at all, please let me know. if you just have any suggestions on what I should do aside from buying a new phone, please let me know. I appreciate your input, probably.

    I realize this was long and tedious, but if you are still reading this, thanks a bunch.
     

    Advertisement
  2. dasudevil

    dasudevil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    45
    have you tried another SD card?
     
  3. back2russia

    back2russia New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes I have tried 3 different ones
     
  4. gamma

    gamma Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    The factory SD cards that are made by San-disk are supposedly to slow (class 2) for the phone to handle. I had problems with mine until i Got a (class 4) card. Then everything worked perfectly.
     
  5. dasudevil

    dasudevil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    45
    then im lost. I have not had any issues with any cards that i have placed in the phone. ALSO... when you rooted it changes the phone to a vodafone since it has a loop hole in it. (crackable)

    Sorry wish i could do more.
     
  6. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    I just installed CM 5.0.8 about an hour ago and I'm noticing that all SD-related options are grayed out, although the gallery appears to work ok. What gives? Does Eclair require a faster SD card than I'm probably using? I've tried 2 cards so far and both have the same results...
     

Share This Page

Loading...