problem reinstalling system app


Last Updated:

  1. abock33

    abock33 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    So like the title says. I'm having trouble installing footprints to be specific. I wanted to use it again and when I moved it from my SD card back to the system app folder it won't install. I'm probably not doing something right. But I don't know what it is. I've moved both the app and widget .apk and .odex files but they won't install. I rooted after 2.2 and they are the 1.10 versions. Anyone know?
     

    Advertisement
  2. abock33

    abock33 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I found my answer but I'm not sure. When I rooted my dinc I used the unrevoked beta and I didn't think imo Rom was changed from the stock sense. When I rooted dis the rom change. If so that would explain why I can't get it to work. I think. How can I tell?
     
  3. REYES

    REYES Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    4
    Okay, all you should have to do is go into adb shell and type

    "mv /system/app.disabled/HtcFoot* /system/app/" assuming you moved the files into the folder app.disabled. Then reboot your phone and it should show up automatically. You shouldn't have to install anything.
     
  4. abock33

    abock33 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll give that a try. I moved them to my sd card with root explorer. I moved it back the same way and rebooted and it never showed up.
     
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,065
    Likes Received:
    8,531
    Won't do you much good if you moved them to the SD with Root Explorer. Not sure why it's not working other than perhaps you should try installing them from the apps folder (system) when you get them back there rather than rebooting? Not sure, just a thought. Maybe try a long press on the app once it's back and see if install (or similar) is an option.
     
  6. abock33

    abock33 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried installing from the Folder. Still gives me a unable to install. I also tried with other apps with the same results. Not to worried. Its just strange.
     

Share This Page

Loading...