Problem with FlashRec


Last Updated:

  1. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    9
    Step 4: Type into the text box, "/sdcard/cm-recovery.img" or whatever you renamed MoDaCo's recovery image to, and hit Flash.

    In this step#4, after entering /sdcard/cm-recovery.img in the text box, there are two buttons: 1.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
  3. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    9
    Slug, even I did think in that way but further following those steps (mentioned in that procedure), there is another nandroid backup. So I got confused.

    Step 6: You should now be in the custom recovery mode. Select the Nandroid Backup option in order to create a backup of your current ROM.

    Are those two backups different?
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Oh yes! :)

    A Nandroid backup is the best insurance against mishap, as it is a complete image of your handset at the point of backup. The ROM, apps, data, recovery image.... everything is saved in this. Restoring it returns your handset to the exact state it was in when th backup was made.

    In contrast, the FlashRec backup is only of the standard (or current) recovery image.
     
  5. FrankTheTank

    FrankTheTank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had this problem and solved it in a cunning way (well not really that cunning at all really.)

    1. Rename "recovery-RA-hero-v1.3.2.img" or whatever you're using to "recovery-backup.img"

    2. Select "flash recovery image"

    It worked for me.
     
  6. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    9
    FrankTheTank,
    Here for me, "Flash Recovery Image" button is disabled (grayed out) and I can not hit it. That is the issue!!!
    Was your trick: Rename "recovery-RA-hero-v1.3.2.img" or whatever you're using to "recovery-backup.img" instead of "cm-recovery.img"?
    Do I need to Root my phone prior to do this?

    Thanks,
    -Jp
     
  7. FrankTheTank

    FrankTheTank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you select
     
  8. nem

    nem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're feeling ballsy you can hit the invisible button the right of the backup button, which allows you to bypass the requirement for a backup before flashing.

    This is only way I found that worked - admittedly I didn't look for an alternative option for long!
     
  9. agent-5

    agent-5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed that the latest version of FlashRec (available through Market) was preventing me from flashing anything. The solution was to download a previous version from here: Downloads - flashrec - Project Hosting on Google Code

    Download and install flashrec-20090815.apk from the above site and try that.

    Its an early version which does not include the 'Backup before you flash' feature.
     

Share This Page

Loading...