Problem with Google TracksSupport


Last Updated:

  1. RobDickson

    RobDickson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    11
    Up until yesterday, Google My Tracks has been a brilliant app and I was going to give it 5 stars. I installed the update yesterday, and can no longer upload my maps to either Google Maps or Google Docs.

    When I first tried uploading, I was asked whether the app should have access to Google Maps, Google Docs and Google Spreadsheet. I allowed all three.

    I have tried using wi-fi and 3G, but get an error every time. I've tried recording a new track, but this also fails to upload. All other apps can access the web OK, so my web connection isn't a problem. I can access Google My Maps on my PC, so my login is still valid.

    Does anybody else use Google My Tracks? Has anybody else experienced this problem since updating? Is there any way of rolling back to the previous version of an app?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Sybex

    Sybex Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Having the same problem after installing the update this morning.
     
  3. goo_mason

    goo_mason New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here after updating the app this morning. Hopefully they'll roll out another to fix it soon!
     
  4. RobDickson

    RobDickson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    11
    Google is looking into the problem now.

    Update from Google (16:14): "An announcement will come shortly. So will a bug fix. Sit tight."
     
  5. RobDickson

    RobDickson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    11
    According to Google:
     
  6. RobDickson

    RobDickson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    11
    V1.0.13 fixed the problem of writing to the SD card, but hasn't fixed the problem with uploading to Google Maps. V1.0.14 (which is being tested at the moment) will fix the problem uploading to Google Maps.
     
  7. RobDickson

    RobDickson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    11
    V1.0.14 was uploaded about 40 minutes ago and seems to fix the problems.
     
  8. Sybex

    Sybex Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cheers for the update Rob, I shall test it out tomorrow........
     
  9. biscuitlad

    biscuitlad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    7
    Has anyone had problems editing waymarkers? Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. The app seems really flakey.
     
  10. RobDickson

    RobDickson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    11
    I've never used waymarkers, so can't help. Just in case you're interested, the reason that V1.0.12 didn't work was because it was only tested on Froyo before being released.
     
  11. richardhall

    richardhall New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem: I haven't been able to upload maps to Google since I changed my phone to the Galaxy S II. (I'm using v 1.1.6 of My Tracks) Is there any sign of a fix for this?
     
  12. RobDickson

    RobDickson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    11
    This has been discussed quite a bit in the My Tracks forum. From what I've read, it's a problem with the phone, not with My Tracks.
     
  13. ScoobyWRX

    ScoobyWRX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    24
    I noticed this yesterday, thought I was doing something different :confused:

    Rob, just a question, what settings do you use on My Tracks? such as - Split frequency, min/max time between points, minimum accuracy ect. as I've had a few issues with distances and speed being way out.

    thanks Paul
     
  14. RobDickson

    RobDickson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    11
    As I mentioned at the time, the problems I had uploading were fixed on 20/05/10.

    I think the default settings work OK for me. Are you sure that your phone has a strong GPS signal?

    I think you'd better off asking these questions in the My Tracks forum.
     
    ScoobyWRX likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...