Problem with messaging and setting a primary numberSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Raph1978

    Raph1978 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,
    I've been using the Desire with Froyo for quite some time and have 2 problems with it:
    1) When I go to people and press send message, the phone instead of composing a message my phone starts dialing that number.
    2) In my Favorites even though I have selected a primary number to dial, the phone keeps calling a different one on the list which was set a long time ago.

    Any idea what can I do to fix these 2 problems as they're really annoying :mad: ?
    Thanks for your help
    Regards
    Raf
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Are they Google contacts? If so may be worth clearing contacts storage and starting again with a fresh sync
     
  3. Raph1978

    Raph1978 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    thanks for the answer. They are google contacts, but I have no idea how to do that. Could you please explain what's the procedure? Thanks.
    Raf
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Settings>applications>manage applications>Contacts Storage> Clear Cache / Clear Data
     
  5. Raph1978

    Raph1978 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I did exactly what you said, but now all my FB contacts are gone and since most of my data was synchronized with it most of my contacts are gone. Any idea what can I do?
    Raf
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    They will sync back. Providing they are selected in accounts and sync. Go in there and sync them.
     
  7. Raph1978

    Raph1978 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the weired thing, I went to accounts and sync and clicked sync all. FB doesn't seem to coming through. All the things like my favorites are gone as well. Will they sync back? Do you know how often the phone makes a backup? Maybe I could restore it from there?
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Are you sure the view in "people" hasn't changed?

    Have you looked at the settings in the facebook app?

    Also, tried in accounts and sync to untick, retick facebook contacts?
     
  9. Raph1978

    Raph1978 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm positive. All the contacts from google were downloaded, but not a single FB. Do you know if there's a way to restore all the data from a backup? I did an update a week ago, so the data there should be relatively fresh ;)
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    What backup do you use?


    Just remove the facebook account then and re-add it.
     
  11. Raph1978

    Raph1978 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortanately I don't use any backup. I'm a mac user and from what I understand the backup software is non-existant. :(
    Removed and added the FB account. Seems like it did the trick, but is there anyway to automatically restore the dependencies between the names and the FB contacts or is it welcome to manual labor? ;)
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It has in the past manually configured/restored some links on my fine, but for somepart at least it will be manual.

    However, they will all be like new contacts, so there should not be any issues setting correct primary numbers etc... :)
     
    Raph1978 likes this.
  13. Raph1978

    Raph1978 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    It didn't restore all the links that I imported from my E-71... F..K . Oh well, at least now when I'll be adding them they'll be saved to google straight away ;)
    Thanks for your help. Finally my phone works the way it should :)
    Regards
    Raf
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Yay
     

Share This Page

Loading...