Problem with Recovery


Last Updated:

  1. flspnr

    flspnr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just rooted my phone and I'm having a problem with Amon's Recovery. Following the steps from this thread, http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/53963-guide-stock-1-5-latest-root-2-1-a.html, I finally got it to go through without the low memory problem. After this, I tried running "db shell reboot recovery" as well as turning the phone off and restarting it by holding volume up and power to boot into recovery to load a custom rom. When I do either, it just shows the skateboarding droids, and stays on that (has been there 4 min so far this try), until I do a battery pull. What am I doing wrong?

    When typing in the stuff to the command prompt, this is what it looks like:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>cd c:\androidsdk\tools

    C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb shell mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

    C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb push recovery.img /sdcard
    828 KB/s (3926016 bytes in 4.625s)

    C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb push flash_image /system/bin
    301 KB/s (9640 bytes in 0.031s)

    C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb shell chmod 755 /system/bin/flash_image

    C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img

    C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb shell reboot recovery

    C:\AndroidSDK\tools>

    Did I miss something? Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. flspnr

    flspnr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Anyone?

    What is it supposed to say when I type everything into the command prompt? Does it say anything to let me know when it's successful? I'm not thinking I can load a custom rom until I get this, and I really really want to, but I'm getting pretty frustrated. I'm sure it's something simple I missed, but I can't figure it out.

    NVM! Directions are missing a step. Got it loading a new rom now!
     
  3. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    EDIT: I didn't see you had gotten working already lol I have to learn to read everything and not just skim through it lol
    Ok simple fix ...
    You didn't flash the recovery.
    Follow these directions its far simpler than running grdlocks...its kind of outdated,
    and the command to reboot was wrong
    it should be
    Code (Text):
    1. adb reboot recovery

    EDIT:just change this Fastboot flash recovery recovery-RA-eris-v1.6.2.img to the corresponding name of your recovery. like
    Fastboot flash recovery yourrecoveryname.img
     
    flspnr likes this.
  4. flspnr

    flspnr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks anyways, hopefully your post will help future noobs like me! That was exactly what I was missing. Now to find the perfect Rom! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...