Problem with ringtones getting resetSupport


Last Updated:

  1. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Hi all,

    Having a problem with Ringtones I've created in RingDroid getting reset. For example I made two ringtones for alarms and incoming calls in ringdroid, then set the phone up to use them.

    The problem comes when I reboot the phone. The phone ringtone and alarm ringtone both say "unknown ringtone" after that. I'm assuming this is because the ringtones are on the sdcard and that isn't mounted until the phone is already booted up.


    Anyone have a similar problem, or know how to fix it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
    I had the same problem last year, when then ringtone was set from audioplayer. When the ringtone was selected from settings everything was OK. Copy your ringtones/alarm sounds/notification sounds to:
    /sdcard/media/audio/alarms/
    /sdcard/media/audio/notifications/
    /sdcard/media/audio/ringtones/
    and then choose them in settings.
     
    jdk33 likes this.
  3. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Thanks for the tip! I just checked my sdcard and the files are already in the locations you advised though.. Do you have any other suggestions?
     
  4. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
    No, I don't have any other idea. Do you get this "unknown ringtone" message right after restart, or in settings (before or after sdcard is mounted?). Maybe it's caused by connecting your phone to PC (I'm not sure, how Android behave, if the card with ringtones disappears [when connected to PC in USB reader mode, it's disconnected from phone then], maybe all tones will be set to 'default' or 'unknown'? But it's just my suspicion, maybe completely wrong [I'm using adb, not USB mode])
     
  5. tommym

    tommym Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am having the same problem
     
  6. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    I don't remember if I posted this before I installed FroYo, but I haven't been having this problem lately, so I'm thinking it's fixed in Froyo..
     
  7. tommym

    tommym Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2

    It is still happening in Froyo
     
  8. dukedroid

    dukedroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My wife and I have this problem on our Incredibles. It also spontaneously changes my notification volume from zero (plus vibrate) to having the same volume as my ringtone. It's annoying to have the phone beep every time I get some junk e-mail. Then I have to go back in to Settings-Sound-Volume, then uncheck the checkbox, then slide notification volume to zero.

    I wish there were a way to lock sound settings against system changes.
     
  9. stan101073

    stan101073 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have just got a zte blade and had the same problem with ringtone resets after reboot and after trial and error here is solution.

    1.copy contact onto phone memory(long hold on contact and select copy to local).
    2.assign ringtone.
    3.remove contact from sim as this will conflict.
    4.after reboot personal ringtone will work....


    hope this helps people out
     
  10. danielary29

    danielary29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    I dont know if its the jelly bean update I downloaded or the app I use but I assign certain text tones and ringtones for people in my contacts they stay there for a few days or so then without warning they get reset to no music at all when I get a text it just pops up in the window no music they all reset that way and I get tired of going in and resetting all the time im using stock contacts and go sms for text anyone have any ideas the ringtones are in notifications on my sd card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...