Problem with ROM Manager


Last Updated:

  1. squaresailor

    squaresailor Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Droid has been running Sholes/DroidMod for nearly a month without trouble, oc'd to 1000 for the last two weeks but I decided I might like to try the ROM Manager to get the latest 2.1 Rom and give it a test drive. When I tap to flash the Clockwork recovery it appears to make progress (downloading I guess) until the permissions screen comes up. I approve su permissions then the app freezes. :confused: I tried four times; three times it required a battery pull. Once rebooted the phone goes back to normal. Am I doing something wrong? Do I need to have one of the Koush roms on the card for it to complete the first part of the process? I emailed the developer, but I'm sure he's busy (and I don't expect support on a free app) so I thought I'd ask here to see if someone else has had the problem or has a solution. If not, I'm happy with DroidMod and will stick with it. Thanks to all those who respond to such posts; I've learned a lot here about my first smartphone.
     

    Advertisement
  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Are you clicking the box that says "Remember" before you press the allow button?
     
    squaresailor likes this.
  3. squaresailor

    squaresailor Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried it with and without. I downloaded the latest update, this morning, and same thing. I just got done skimming the long "Koush" thread and realize I should've asked the question there instead of starting a new thread, sorry. Thanks for your quick reply, though. It looks like there are enough problems with those roms that I might stay away for a while. I rely on my phone for work and play and couldn't tolerate 3g or battery issues. It's why I've stayed with the DroidMod 1.0 rom so long.
     
  4. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hmm..I haven't seen that before so I'm not sure what to tell you. Cyanogen is definately NOT "business phone ready" at this time IMO. Bugless Beast is the most stable rom that I have found. If you like the look and feel of Cyanogen...BB v0.9 with Helix2 Launcher is really nice! 7 Screens, running Adamz medium voltage kernel...no FC's, it is fast, and it is stable. That would be my "all the time" setup if this was a business phone for me.

    This is it (with the HexFusion Theme applied)
    [​IMG]
     
  5. squaresailor

    squaresailor Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks UBrocked, I think I'm going to stay put where I am. I guess I'm socially liberal and telephony conservative. ;-) I'm glad I'm rooted to maintain tethering but I'll wait to see if the DroidMod drama settles down before I jump to a better looking mistress. ;-) Keep up the help and commentary. I appreciate it as I assume other lurkers do.
    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. Bunsen Honeydew

    Bunsen Honeydew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    33
    I have had similar problems with rom manager too. When the progress bar seems to be full, but stuck, I will exit out of the program (back button) and reopen it. When I do, the button are usually no longer grayed out. I also find that I have better luck downloading the recovery image if I am on Wifi. It could just make me less impatient though.
     
  7. mrothschild

    mrothschild Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the thing about ROMS. They are very iffy. I'd wait for the support from the developer. Also if it ain't broke don't fix it.
     
  8. Fecious

    Fecious Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same type problems. Try using another Kernel, that seemed to fix it for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...