Problem with Vista recognizing my Eris


Last Updated:

  1. RiseAgainst540

    RiseAgainst540 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bare with me, I'm new...

    I've installed AndroidSDK and have the drives download but every time I point Windows to the folder it says no drivers were found for my device. I'm trying to do this with the phone being recognized as an ADB device.

    I got the PC to recognize my phone by installing HTC Sync but in the Device Manager it still shows a yellow exclamation point. When I troubleshoot it, it says Windows can not launch driver "Error 37". Anyone know what's wrong? I have my phone rooted using the PB00IMG.zip file but can not complete the recovery partition due to the Windows not being able to communicate with my Eris.
     

    Advertisement
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,680
    Likes Received:
    22,040
    Haven't heard specifically about that error before in these threads.

    Take a look in this thread: http://androidforums.com/all-things...oot-troubleshooting-guide-htc-droid-eris.html, its got some USB / connectivity tips that might help you.

    One recent poster simply had to reboot his PC after installing the SDK, etc. Please let us know what (if anything) helps solve your issue so I can update the guide. Good luck.

    edit: did a few searches for your error code, here are some of the first/top ones (they all seem to discuss driver install/re-install issues or need):

    http://hubpages.com/hub/Error-37-Windows-Driver

    How to Troubleshoot Device Driver Error Codes 37 and 38

    Code 37 - Windows cannot initialize the device driver for this hardware. (Vista Home Edition)

    Solution! Windows cannot initialize the device driver for this hardware. (Code 37) - XP Hardware.

    See if anything above does the trick. Cheers!
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    A specific errror (37 in your case) would send me to another computer temporarily just to get root going on my phone.

    That particular error is reported around various Windows forums as being sound card related and/or device manager related, and exhibits itself not long after a Vista update, in many cases.

    It of course needs to be resolved for that machine, but if you've got another computer to achieve the root steps on, go ahead and use it. ;)
     
  4. RiseAgainst540

    RiseAgainst540 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, So I switched to my other PC running Windows 7. It recognizes my phone and I can ADB the device and see my serial.

    During the first command of installing Amon Ra's Recovery Tool

    adb shell mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

    I get this.

    Code (Text):
    1. C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb shell mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    2. mount: Operation not permitted
    I just checked a link posted earlier and it seems my bootloader version is unrootable..My HBOOT version is 1.49 which is odd because it was the OTA update and not a leaked one. Any way to fix it?
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    RiseAgainst540 likes this.
  6. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,680
    Likes Received:
    22,040
    Is your bootloader 1.49.0000 or 1.49.2000?
     
  7. RiseAgainst540

    RiseAgainst540 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help. I'll just wait until there's a more stable way to do it.
     
  8. RiseAgainst540

    RiseAgainst540 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,680
    Likes Received:
    22,040
    Not great news... 1.49.0000 is not easily rootable (i.e., that's what all of the hubbub over at XDA is all about recently: trying to root the 2.1 leaked phones that have this same HBOOT version).

    Honestly, I haven't followed if the most recent OTA update is updating the HBOOT (anyone? Bueller? Bueller?)...but, phones that had the 2.1 leak installed or recent phones folks are acquiring from VZW have had the 1.49.0000 bootloader.

    I know you said you had an original OTA phone, but were you talking about the most recent OTA update/fix-set?
     
  10. RiseAgainst540

    RiseAgainst540 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The original OTA. I then installed the PB00 file and decided to start clean and wiped it using factory restore. The weird thing instead of going back to 1.5 like I thought it went back to 2.1 and I was unable to load the PB00 file. It said something to the effect of Build versions is older than original or something of the sort.
     
  11. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,680
    Likes Received:
    22,040
    "Main version is older"?
     
  12. RiseAgainst540

    RiseAgainst540 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it says "Main version is older! UPDATE FAILED!"
     
  13. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,680
    Likes Received:
    22,040
    :( don't know what to tell you...search the threads on that quoted text for disappointing news... Sorry, man!
     
  14. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,680
    Likes Received:
    22,040
    One last question: where did you obtain / download the PB00IMG.zip file and approx. when? Some folks got a bogus base root ROM from theUnlockR.com (they had a 2.1 leak ROM linked instead for a while). Is it possible that you installed a 2.1 leak instead of the base root ROM?

    An md5sum of your PB00IMG.zip file would confirm...
     
  15. evenmoreconfused

    evenmoreconfused New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nvm about my previous post. I just found out my rooting error "Main version is older" is due to the fact I have an Hboot 1.49. What I am failing to understand is that when I first got my HTC Droid Eris refurb (stock 2.1) I rooted it easily with the 1 click root for eris. Then had to downgrade to 1.5 firmware with this guide http://androidforums.com/474953-post1.html.
    because I had no network connect for over twenty four hours even after a few hard resets that were well spaced out. I've read EVERYWHERE that you cannot root your phone if it has a 1.49 Hboot. So how did I? And yes I was rooted, I had full superuser permissions and the abd confirmed my root when I typed "$ su" it turned to a "#". I used the wireless tether soon after on a laptop not connected to the internet, worked no problems. So I was rooted. But now that I'm trying to re-root manually I'm getting the "Main version is older" error. Can anyone tell me why I was able to root the first time? Did reverting back to 1.5 change my Hboot to 1.49 when it could've been 1.46 or 1.47 previous to the downgrade? Thanks to anyone with any info.
     
  16. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Note that the thread which you just revived had it's last post on July 02, 2010.

    As of July 2, 2010, the currently favored method of gaining root had not yet been disclosed.

    What does that mean? It means that anything you read which is dated prior to July 13, 2010 (or a little after that) IS NOT 100% CORRECT ANY LONGER.

    I don't understand - why are you trying to "manually root?" The "one click" method is reported to work on ANY HTC 2.1 (stock) ROM, and I personally have tested the "Dummies" method on almost every possible 1.5 and 2.1 HTC ROMs. Neither of those methods have any dependence on the version of the bootloader - you get the same result no matter what bootloader is used.

    You can root ANY ERIS with ANY BOOTLOADER and a stock HTC OS at this time using either the "One Click" method or the "Dummies" method.

    ??

    eu1


    [ Edit ]
    I went and looked at your other two posts. I am guessing that you never installed (using "fastboot") either the old 1.5 hboot (bootloader) or the old recovery boot. The OTA process relies on having a stock recovery boot partition in place, and if it fails because Amon_RA is still there, you will get exactly the symptoms you describe: the "Look for Updates" will report that you are up-to-date, even though the update failed.

    But here's the good news. Not only does the new "One Click" or "Dummies" method NOT depend of the bootloader, it also does NOT depend on whatever recovery boot is there either.
     

Share This Page

Loading...