Problems sending media to handset...


Last Updated:

  1. frazmand

    frazmand Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    First of all I'd like to say what a fantastic piece of kit App Inventor looks to be.

    I'm a web developer by profession and I think that Google have done a great job in opening up programming to the masses.

    Unfortunately I'm having a bit of an issue transferring media to the phone through the Blocks Editor.

    I am following the Hello Purr tutorial and I keep getting the same error message for my HTC Desire - 'Error sending media to the phone'.

    Any help on this would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. JasonC

    JasonC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    38
    Have you set the USB connection to USB Debugging?
     
  3. qwho

    qwho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Your phone needs to be set to 'charge only', because if it is set to disc drive, the app inventor can't access your phone storage, because your pc has it mounted.
     
  4. beavo92

    beavo92 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having a similar problem with eclipse.
    How do I set a Nexus 1 to charge only, I haven't seen that described in any of the tutorials.
     
  5. qwho

    qwho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    It might be a sense thing, there is a pop-up that you can have show up when you plug in the phone.

    Maybe check your settings in your phone for "connect to pc" and set default connection type to 'charge only'
     
  6. beavo92

    beavo92 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My apologies to Frazmand because I don't want to hijack his original post.

    However.....I can't seem to find any of those settings on my Nexus.

    Thanks for reply though.
     
  7. qwho

    qwho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    When you plug in the usb cable, does your nexus one sdcard show up in your mounted drives as an additional hard drive?

    If so, it is probably your problem. There has to be a way to turn if off if so.
     
  8. beavo92

    beavo92 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the phone itself I have two messages showing:

    USB debugging connected
    USB connected

    This is the console script that I have on the pc.

    Code (Text):
    1. [2010-08-26 15:19:51 - Test001] ------------------------------
    2. [2010-08-26 15:19:51 - Test001] Android Launch!
    3. [2010-08-26 15:19:51 - Test001] adb is running normally.
    4. [2010-08-26 15:19:51 - Test001] Performing com.example.test.Test001 activity launch
    5. [2010-08-26 15:20:05 - Test001] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'phone2.2'
    6. [2010-08-26 15:20:05 - Test001] New emulator found: emulator-5554
    7. [2010-08-26 15:20:05 - Test001] Waiting for HOME ('android.process.acore') to be launched...
    8. [2010-08-26 15:20:35 - Test001] WARNING: Application does not specify an API level requirement!
    9. [2010-08-26 15:20:35 - Test001] Device API version is 8 (Android 2.2)
    10. [2010-08-26 15:20:35 - Test001] HOME is up on device 'emulator-5554'
    11. [2010-08-26 15:20:35 - Test001] Uploading Test001.apk onto device 'emulator-5554'
    12. [2010-08-26 15:20:36 - Test001] Installing Test001.apk...
    13. [2010-08-26 15:21:19 - Test001] Success!
    14. [2010-08-26 15:21:19 - Test001] Starting activity com.example.test.Test001 on device
    15. [2010-08-26 15:21:23 - Test001] ActivityManager: Starting: Intent { act=android.intent.action.MAIN cat=[android.intent.category.LAUNCHER] cmp=com.example.test/.Test001 }
    16.  
    It works fine in the emulator but I just can't get it to show on the phone.

    Should I be looking somewhere specific on the phone ?
     
  9. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    Unless the N1 works differently, the MicroSD shouldn't mount unless you choose to mount it.

    When you open the blocks editor and click the Connect to Phone button, what happens?

    Someone has started a thread in the official Google Groups here (but no answer yet): https://groups.google.com/group/appinventor/browse_thread/thread/50bfbe0a92465d2

    Another Google Groups thread (this one suggests an answer): https://groups.google.com/group/appinventor/browse_thread/thread/95a40b03ef261f7c

    "make sure your phone is not is "USB/mass storage" mode. "

    Try looking here: http://appinventor.googlelabs.com/learn/troubleshooting.html
     
  10. beavo92

    beavo92 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks I will take a look at those links.

    As it happens I have got around the problem by sending the apk file to my phone via bluetooth rather than using the USB cable.

    I would rather have it all working as it should though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...