Problems since firmware update...


Last Updated:

  1. sihaworth

    sihaworth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since I installed the latest firmware update, I've had nothing but problems with my HTC - to the point where I'm tempted to send it back. It may be worth noting that I'm Orange and I debranded my phone when I first got it - with no issues.

    Firstly the installation didn't work well, it backed up my settings and installed fine but when restarting and restoring my settings - the problems began. I left my phone for at least 20 minutes to restore the settings but it just seemingly froze. I restarted my phone and for a brief 10 seconds it reverted back to my original settings, then went back to a generic set up (widgets, wallpaper etc).

    The message app is now painfully slow and makes texting quite a horrible experience whereas before, it was as good as, if not better, than the iPhone in that respect. I don't know what has happened to it, but its definitely not right. It also displays the amount of messages to each person in a number after the name of contact - which frankly, doesn't look pretty.

    Wifi has just stopped working, and now will not turn on. This seemed to have started when I added a widget, along with mobile network and gps to turn on and off at ease. I've removed the widget, had a hard reset, but nothing will get the wifi to turn on again. Unfortunately this is just leading to an increase in the amount of usage I'm using through the network.

    Lastly, my battery and charger have started playing up. Whether this is a physical thing or whether its software related I'm not sure, but I left my phone to charge overnight next to me and when I woke up, it hadn't done anything. I messed with it and it charged, then went off again, then charged again. Strange.

    All in all, I'm pretty unhappy with the phone at the moment and to top it all off there's no sign of 2.2.

    Any help would be much appreciated but at the moment, I just feel like ringing Orange and asking for a replacement or possibly another phone.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mikebell

    mikebell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    24
    If you search this forum you will find that Orange + Debrand + Update = No WiFi

    It's a consequence of the risk that you took when you messed about with your phone, I'm afraid. Neither Orange nor HTC can be responsible for updates that are applied to boy racer ROM images.

    You might get lucky and convince Orange that the phone is faulty, although they've probably cottoned on to this by now.

    Search the forum a bit more and I'm sure you'll find a solution that involves flashing your phone again.
     
  3. sihaworth

    sihaworth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I flash back to Orange rom and then de-brand will that lead to the same consquences? I can't be dealing with Oranges rubbish they force upon me.
     
  4. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Your now stuffed as any reflashing will prompt for the network unlock code
     
  5. sihaworth

    sihaworth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like the PUK code?
     
  6. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    No the code that stops your phone accepting other networks sims
     
  7. angrypirate

    angrypirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    For Debranded Orange Phones:
    OTA Update without goldcard - radio is not updated and wifi ceases to work

    OTA Update with goldcard - radio is updated but for some reason this put a simlock on the phone (or network lock or whatever you want to call it) - you will need an unlock code costing between
     
    sihaworth likes this.
  8. sihaworth

    sihaworth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info.

    What a ball ache! Probably no accident that this is now occurring tbf.
     
  9. DUCKVILLELOL

    DUCKVILLELOL New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue - I just assumed it was some weird hardware issue - which would be odd, given that I have taken great care of the phone given the cost of it :O

    But yeah I've had trouble with it picking up the connection sometimes, I also thought it could have been my pc, but I've now tried it on 3 different PC's, and it was flaky on the other ones too. Next step is to try a new cord, but I think it's incredibly[/i] unlikely that it's the cord, given that up until this recent patch I haven't had any problems, and the cord hasn't left my desk since these recent movements to test on other PC's.
     
  10. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
     

Share This Page

Loading...