Problems with audio filesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. seanwick

    seanwick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just updated to android 2.2 and now when i try to add audio files to my card, the only way i can play them is to open the file through astro. Neither the stock player or cube player will show the files.

    The stock player shows the files in the library but when I try to play the songs, it gives a message that i am missing a root file, or that the phone doesn't recognize the file type (mp3).

    Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Knowing 1) How up updated, 2) what customizations you have performed, and 3) what you came from before would help.

    Are you rooted? Were you previously running a stock Android or were you running a custom ROM? Are these files that worked in the previous version of Android that you were running?
     
  3. seanwick

    seanwick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was running stock 2.1, updated using one of tridents links downloaded to my pc. I am not having any other problems using froyo.

    I only use mp3 files ripped from my cds. Never had any issues before.
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Hmm, never had any issues playing them in any of my builds - they may have sounded different, but never had issues actually playing them

    Try performing a battery pull first, and then letting it boot back up. If not, then try reinstalling the update.

    Finally, I'd try a factory reset.
     
  5. seanwick

    seanwick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done all the above except factory reset. I also deleted all audio files and reloaded. Now the only way I can play any music is bt going through astro file manager.
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Hmmm, and this is with new files copied tothe SDCard?

    Gonna test on my end right now. It plays all the ones I have on the SDCaard already, but let's see what happens to new files.
     
  7. seanwick

    seanwick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. Only new files copied to the sd card.
     
  8. seanwick

    seanwick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Video and picture files are unaffected.
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    OK, I just got a new update on my phone, so I was tempted to start playing with that - but as soon as I finish copying some files I'll try and see if I am affected by this or not.
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I moved an entire album over to the same location where all my previous albums are - music player is not aware that I added a new album at all. I cannot find the songs at all, but when I used Root Explorer to find the files manually, it played the album I moved over perfectly fine.

    What encoding are you using to make your MP3, and are you using CBR / CBR?
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    After I rebooted the phone, (with a battery replacement to test something else) I saw the album in the music player as well.

    Since you already tried the battery pull, I highly recommend that you try a factory reset - A lot of people are experiencing issues with FroYo that disappear after a factory reset.

    Or, else, you could revert back to an older OS and then use the new OTA and flash a completely clean OS, see http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid/145055-non-rooted-frg22-upgrade-possible.html#post1335838
     

Share This Page

Loading...