Problems with Flashing Cyanogenmod, 6.0


Last Updated:

  1. Headie Murphy 420

    Headie Murphy 420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the HTC EVO 4g and used the unrEVOked method to ROOT my phone. I got ROM Manager and Titanium Backup Pro for all my backup/flashing needs. I downloaded cyanogen mod 6.0 (stable release I believe) and when I approve the phone to go ahead and backup/wipe my phone, it just goes to the bootloader screen. No code runs down, nothing happens. I rebooted and I still have the same ROM installed, the froyo 2.2 ROM. Any suggestions to where I went amiss? Also if I'm using the incorrect lingo sorry, I'm new to hacking phones and such:)
     

    Advertisement
  2. HoldenCaufield

    HoldenCaufield Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    10
  3. Headie Murphy 420

    Headie Murphy 420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will have to try that out. I was trying to flash some other ROMs (specifically myns warm, all three versions) and none of them worked. It said "corrupted zip file" or something to that effect. Also, do you NEED the premium version of ROM manager to do all of this stuff? I've been working with the free version thus far, but will purchase if I need to.
     
  4. JackT

    JackT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7
    You might want to give it a shot using a manual method. Sounds like ROM manager might not be downloading properly. I have had problems with ROM manager in the past and just changed to using the manual method and it hasn't failed me yet.
     
  5. Headie Murphy 420

    Headie Murphy 420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0

    I was reading through the ROOTING for Dummies post and is the manual method where I download the file on my computer and transfer it to my root folder in my phones microsd?
     
  6. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Place the zip file directly on the root of the SD Card. (the main folder of the sd card, simply don't put the zip in any folder.)

    Manual method:
    Power the phone off
    Power the phone back by pressing the volume down button and power.
    Once you are in hboot select RECOVERY
    Once recovery loads, use the volume up and downbuttons to navigate and the power button to select.
    Navigate down to wipe and select wipe using the power button.
    Select wipe data, press power to confirm.
    Once data wipe is complete wipe cache, press power to confirm
    Once cache is wiped, wipe dalvik (if you are using clockwork, dalvik is located in the advacned section; if using amon ra dalvik is located below cache)
    Once all 3 are wiped return to the main menu in recovery.
    Then select flash zip from SD.
    Select the zip you want to flash and press power to confirm.
    Sit back and let it do its thing.
    Once it is complete reboot the phone and you are set!

    Hope that makes sense! lol
     
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Make sure you flash the gapps after flashing the rom if you want the market...
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Or directly download the zip file with your phone and the zip file should be in your 'downloads' folder on your sd card
     
  9. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Good call! Forgot about that!!
     
  10. Headie Murphy 420

    Headie Murphy 420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the help guys, I am now running myn's warm 2.2 RLS3 : ) No custom kernel yet, but there's plenty of time for that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...