Problems with HTC Sync (Unable to sync HTC Hero with WinVista)


Last Updated:

  1. TheMrMay

    TheMrMay Guest This Topic's Starter

    Post deleted by user.
     

    Advertisement
  2. paintdrop

    paintdrop New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this same problem on Windows XP... turned out the one from the HTC website is a later version. So I uninstalled it and installed the version from the memory card supplied.

    It then recognised my phone and everything was fine. I hope this helps.
     
  3. madsborelli

    madsborelli Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    if its because you need to import contacts, just search for "import" in market and find a vcf importer.
     
  4. xantr1x

    xantr1x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having this problem and have not yet found a suitable fix. I want to upgrade the ROM...
     
  5. dostanet

    dostanet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's easy guys, for the first time you conect your phone you need to follow these steps. Once you have dont this procedure on each computer you use for the first time, your PC will recognise the phone every subsequent time.

    1. Start the HTC Sync on your PC
    2. On HTC Hero, from the Home screen, press MENU key, then select Notifications
    3. Select either "HTC Sync - Synchronise your phone with Windows". This will report your phone to HTC Sync and you can configure and start the sync from your PC.

    4. Or select "USB Connected - Select to copy files to/from your computer" and then select "Mount" to make you phone appear on your PC as a mass storage device so that you can store files on it.

    All this is explained on HTC Support pages.
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,389
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    When you connect the handset, does Device Manager show an entry for "Android Devices"? If so, and there's no entry beneath this for "My HTC Hero" (or similar) then the device drivers haven't installed correctly. Try updating them by looking in \Program Files\HTC\HTC Driver\Driver files\.
     
  7. JR777

    JR777 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem. It won't find Sync on my PC just installed the version from my phone to make sure they were the same.

    Reposting the manual doesn't help especially when you have no idea how my phone is customized. I have NO Notifications Icon on my phone ANYWHERE. And that is getting it straight from the store that way. I did find the notifications after a while but the error comes after the notification.
     
  8. sugarspun

    sugarspun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had the same problem and here is how i sorted it, might work for you.

    First make sure you have htc sync installed and running. Now plug your hero into a usb port using the cable that was supplied with your phone and turn your hero off and then back on again, hopefully after this you should be able see the usb icon in the notification bar (If this doesnt work try removing the battery and turning back on but make sure your hero is still plugged into computer with usb while doing this). Drag down the notification bar and and choose to mount usb. Now follow these instructions.

    1. Open Control Panel / Devices and Printers

    2. Right click the 'Android Phone' and select properties

    3. Click on the hardware tab

    4. Probably be listed as 'HTC Dream composite interface' or similar.

    5. Highlight this entry and click on properties.

    6. In the properties dialogue box under the general tab at the bottom click 'change settings'.

    7. When the dialogue box reappears click on the 'Driver' tab.

    8. Select the 'Update Driver' option.

    9. On the first screen select the second option 'Browse my computer for driver software'.

    10. In the next screen select the second option 'Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer'.

    11. You should then be faced with 2 options on the next screen under Model, either 'HTC Dream Composite ADB Interface' or 'My HTC'.

    12. Select 'My HTC' and that will install the correct drivers and then you should be good to go.
     
  9. JR777

    JR777 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the help. Gave up on my school computer and loaded it to my laptop with Windows 7 and the error came up but then it synced anyway.
     
  10. KruegerNerd

    KruegerNerd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It only talks about PC. I have a Mac, and it wont sync to my mac. It won't even install the HTC Sync to my mac, because it's an .EXE file and Macs don't read those. What is a good suggestion for this one?
     
  11. pokosik

    pokosik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't need to sync hero if you want upgrade to oroginal ROM just conect phone with isb to pc and click on RUU file which you downloaded from htc suport and install your ROM. I did this and my hero was succsessfuly upgraded to version which i downloaded.
     
  12. wavey

    wavey New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I had this solution with my Desire. After hours of trying to sort out the problem, I figured what could be the solution. With memory at a low I couldn't budge, I deleted the app taking up the largest memory. In this case, Google Earth.

    I was then able to connect and sync easily.

    One of the Desire issues, maybe the only one, is the lack of internal memory.

    Anyway, I then re-installed Google Earth, with 10 less MB, and was able to transfer it to the SD card.

    Problem solved.
     
  13. Sol1Sal

    Sol1Sal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I had the same problem with HTC Desire. It would not recognize the phone although it would charge ok. Evetually I sent it for repair. The problem was still there! In desperation I used a usb cable for Amazon Kindle...and hurray it worked!!! I guess there was a problem with the HTC usb cable right from the start or some difference on the impedance that a different cable resolved!:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...