1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Problems with new FAcebook app


Last Updated:

  1. cyberelex

    cyberelex Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does Anyone have multiples contacts being created and linked every single time the app initiates a sync. So for example under Joe smith it would create a contact named com.facebook.auth.login under joe smith. And this is created everytime it syncs, so overnight i had about 5 for each contact. It also doesnt pull the picture for each contact. is this just me?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Munnarg

    Munnarg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    29
    I personally use the Facebook for HTC Sense to sync my contact pics. I've never used the Facebook app to sync or for notifications.
     
  3. chris_h16

    chris_h16 Guest


    Hi
    Yes i get this. I usually use the HTC Sense app which has always worked fine, then I've updated to Froyo 2.2 on HTC Desire and noticed the new Facebook update of the market app so downloaded and starting using this but it only syncs the contact name and no status or pictures into the contacts, but it does update itself if you go into the app iteslf. I also got the duplicated contact on each sync.
     
  4. kast107

    kast107 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    A little off topic, but be careful with the FB update. I just uninstalled it because it wasn't letting my phone go to sleep. I need to conserve my precious battery.
     
  5. bzxzlg

    bzxzlg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did notice that in the new facebook app you can adjust the update settings ... menu -> settings -> refresh interval = set to never and then uncheck notifications :)
     
  6. kast107

    kast107 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    The old FB allowed you to do the same thing. The problem is that with this one, even if you turn off the notifications and set the refresh interval to "never", it still keeps running in the background and won't let your phone sleep.
     
  7. EvilAndroid

    EvilAndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ouch... same for me. I just linked them all; only 18 minutes of my life I'll never get back.
     
  8. Texrands

    Texrands New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here Cyber...anyone have a fix?
     
  9. brushrop03

    brushrop03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    35
    yep...Facebook in your browser
     
  10. elteedub

    elteedub Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    i dont understand whats with all the facebook apps...if i remember correctly my phone came with a facebook app pre installed..then theres something on the phone called facebook htc sense and in the marketplace there is a facebook for android..what is the difference between all three
     
  11. brushrop03

    brushrop03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    35
    Facebook for android is the app that came with the phone

    Facebook for HTC sense is the integration between your facebook account and everything in your phone (i.e. events, birthdays, contacts, etc.) It's not considered an app.
     
  12. elteedub

    elteedub Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    ok and then what is the app that is in the marketplace..facebook for android?
     
  13. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    21
    yes elteeedub
     
  14. elteedub

    elteedub Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    so if i install that app does it replace the facebook app i have on my phone already? i dont see an option on the app that came with the phone to let you update
     
  15. SwiftFox

    SwiftFox Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1

    when u click install on the facebook app on market it will pop up a notification on screen that it will replace the currently installed app
     
  16. elteedub

    elteedub Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    thanks...until they add chat...i am not updating
     
  17. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    Helpful and insightful!


    I do not have this problem with Facebook sync. I would probably just disable the sync if I were you, but you might want to try re-installing to see if that helps any.
     
  18. backwater

    backwater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine makes me login again every night/morning now since the update. i don't know why but it's annoying.
     

Share This Page

Loading...