Process called 0 under spare parts?Support


Last Updated:

  1. massiveian

    massiveian Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    so i just started getting bad battery life with 2.1 on dd03. I was getting great battery life before. So i looked under spare parts and this "0" was an application that was running more than android system itself. So i try to click on it and it freezes for a second and comes up with a "The applicatio Settings (process com.android.settings) has stopped unexpectedly Please try again.

    Now i think this is whats draining my battery so much. The only app I have now that i didnt have before is sms pop up Because Handcent would continue to run until I read the message. So my running time was pretty high. Could this "0" process be the sms pop up?
     

    Advertisement
  2. NOMster

    NOMster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    109
    No.I had that before and after going to 2.1 and I never saw that in spare parts before.
     
  3. edvan

    edvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    I too have the 0 under spare parts. But do not have SMS Popup, I'm using Handcent with 2.1 DD10 Rooted.

    I can't tell what it is either.
     
  4. Raphi

    Raphi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have spare parts as well, im running 2.1 dd10 rooted with joey's and when my battery life started acting up I just cleared the dalvik cache and it did the trick, battery life is actually better than before :)
     
  5. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    woah.. crazy. I was just posting this screen shot..

    [​IMG]

    I know I've seen this before, but where's the option in the recovery boot to clear that cache?
    EDIT:
    For anyone else who doesn't know with DD10:
    Boot into recovery from phone off: hold Volume down, Phone and End buttons
    Use optical pad to goto "data options", then "clear dalvik cache.

    Gonna try it now! My battery life has been ridiculous. :)
     
  6. edvan

    edvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    oooh thanks.. My info looked like that too with real bad battery life.

    I'll try clearing that cache too.
     
  7. massiveian

    massiveian Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    I cleared the Cache in recovery and it is still there .
     
  8. Raphi

    Raphi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still have the 0 but its usage is nowhere near as high as yours, it has to be related to an app that connects to the network, question is which one? on my phone it's ranked 4th just after facebook (1st is android, 2nd is weather channel and 3rd is the browser) the only thing I can think of that I use less than the browser and more than facebook would be gmail. so could that be it or does it fall under android system?

    did it fix your battery problem though?
     
  9. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    Does clearing the davlik cache hurt your phone in anyway?
     
  10. NOMster

    NOMster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    109
    any of the apps you guys mentioned can usually be seen lower down on the list, so they can't be the cause. i can tell you that since removing live wallpapers i haven't had it show up at all on my phone. at all. for 3 days now. i honestly can't remember if i also removed anything else, but i did do a reload of dd10 and root after removing it. i have gmail turned off as i am using k-9 for everything but it shows up seperately too. if i go another few days without it showing up i might reload live wallpapers and see if it comes back. i know they don't inherently use alot of juice, but it may be something else getting triggered. i dunno.
     
  11. dbonbass

    dbonbass Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    I did clear the Dalvik cache, and it looks like I'm getting somewhat normal battery life again... I also noticed that my phone wasn't running as hot.
    The real test will be tomorrow and I'll report back.
     
  13. massiveian

    massiveian Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    after clearing cache and pulling the battery my run time is still at 84.8 and my screen on is around 22. And this mysterious "0" program still there but not using as much network as android system anymore. My phone has become pretty slow lately so i think im gonna wipe it and start over...not really looking forward to having to put everything back on the phone like LWP, flan gallery, keylights, and removing all of sprints shit programs.....although i do have a question since flan galley and keylights is on the SD card they wont be gone right?
     
  14. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    My phone gets very hot now and battery drains fast. Maybe I should clear the cache as well? This wont erase anything will it?
     
  15. BlackInjun

    BlackInjun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    7
    The 0 in spare parts is related to radio activity. If it is the Blue that is high it is your bluetooth or dialer/data on and if higher being connected. If it is red on blue it is Bluetooth and Wifi. I have found that the bluetooth seems to use more battery in 2.1 than before, haven't tested wifi.

    I have also found that if you keep your apps updated it will not check the market as much. I haven't tested this but I bet if you turn airplane mode on and check this 0 will be low, for myself I leave bluetooth and wifi off for the most part.
     
  16. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hm, well factor into my screenshot above that I haven't turned on Bluetooth since I've upgraded to 2.1. I have been experimenting with my wifi sleep settings -- as wifi is on most of the time.
     
  17. massiveian

    massiveian Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well i went ahead and reset the phone and reflashed 2.1 with recovery and root. i am still getting this 0 in spare parts and i have never touched bluetooth or wifi. so i have no clue what is causing this but its killing my battery. im ready to give up and get a blackberry. i love this phone though. has anyone found a fix for this?
     
  18. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Yeah wait for the eVo 4G. I'll probably sell my moment to get the eVo 4G.
     
  19. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    I too have never used bluetooth since flashing 2.1 (no root) ) is only showing up aas blue (no red at all) I believe the only thing it could be is Gmail
     
  20. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    I was getting some pretty wired battery life too. I would go like a week with really good battery life, then all of a sudden, it would just burn battery like crazy. I was going through battery fast since last Thursday. I'm talking going from full charge to 80% in less than two hours, with no usage. I tried battery pull and powering on an off, and no help. I didn't try clearing the cache. On Saturday I installed Advanced Task Manager. I had purchased the app weeks ago (while using 1.5), but quit using it because of the some of the negative opinions that I have read on this site. Using it, my phone stayed above 80% all day yesterday. I didn't use it that much, a couple short phone calls and a few short searches on the web using Wifi. I'm not sure if it is coincidence or if it is helping. I think that it is set up just to kill apps when I push the widget button. I am using live wallpaper too. You might want to give it a try.
     
  21. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    The real official release of 2.1 for the Moment will probably be more stable. (I think)
     
  22. massiveian

    massiveian Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    I doubt it. Remember were dealing with Samsung and Sprint here. Were guinea pigs. They relaeased 1.5 which doesnt support CDMA at least HTC was able to customize it and make it work better than our moments.

    I was thinking ATK but Android OS is supposed to be pretty reliable about monitoring which apps are running.
     
  23. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    The same scenario happened a couple of weeks ago, but I think that I installed DD10, and that may have killed whatever process that was eating juice. I'll test it a bit. I won't kill any tasks again unless I see the high battery usage. I don't really understand the battery monitor thing. The only thing that ever seems high is the Andriod System, I assume that is normal.
     
  24. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    But from what I hear, Android 2.1 will support CDMA natively so it will work a bit better. Thats what I've been hearing at least.

    Also, remember that DD10 is a leaked version of 2.1 that wasn't even released by sprint. Its not the official update.
     
  25. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    Back to the battery issue. Took my phone off the charger at 6am now it is 3:30pm and I'm still at least 80% battery life. Either that, or the battery meter at the top isn't working. It is full green. I haven't used the task killer since maybe 7:00am. I've taken a few calls read a few emails and had bluetooth on and connected for about 45 minutes (it's still on too). The inconsistent battery life is pretty weird. Today is the best life I have seen on a work day.
     

Share This Page

Loading...