1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

[Profile] [Light Sensor] V2 - Brightness adjust on Screen on


Last Updated:

  1. bruce73

    bruce73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    45
    How exactly did you get that row at the bottom to appear?
     

    Advertisement
  2. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    It's only visible in the Variables tab. Swipe up on the arrow right above the +.
     
    bruce73 likes this.
  3. bruce73

    bruce73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    45
    Aha! Never spotted that arrow before. Thanks!
     
  4. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    I hit it accidentally and couldn't figure out what I did for a while.
     
  5. digit27

    digit27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that's to filter the shown variables... although the predefined ones don't seem to work for me.
     
  6. GTurn

    GTurn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    100
    I tried to use these profiles for 3 days and it is using way too much battery. My battery monitor shows tasker using 30 percent of the battery. I have never had it that high before.
     
  7. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    That's odd. Tasker doesn't even show up in my battery stats.
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    The getlight profile should only be enabled when the screen is off. It should turn off when screen turns on. If it is not doing this, it will continually poll the light sensor, draining battery
     
  9. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    I just had this happen to me when I transferred to a new phone. Weird. I set %LightValue to a number and the problem was fixed.
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I had it too after upgrading to jb. Well it was returning 0.0 then I deleted everything and restored it. Then it was "LIGHT". I spoke to the dev and he said that if it was linked to a disabled profile (which it was) tasker decides it doesn't need to
     
  11. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    Does the order the profiles are imported in matter?
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Shouldn't do.
     
  13. shivark79

    shivark79 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    which is the latest? I tried to do it manually and there seems to be 2 versions on the first post. Is V1: (hidden text) the latest version?
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You know V stands for Version?
     
  15. digit27

    digit27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was hoping this would work for me... I set %LightValue to "1" when creating it (is that what you mean?) but when the task runs, %LightValue still turns to "LIGHT"

    Im not sure I understand... You mean a profile that is 'uncheck' under the profile tab? I don't have any disabled profile and %LIGHT still returns "LIGHT".

    If either of you have any other ideas please let me know.
     
  16. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    I went to the Variable tab and set LightValue to a number manually. I had to do it twice.
     
  17. silentwitness

    silentwitness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    318
    i first have to commend you on a brilliant tasker profile i hate having to leave the house and not be able to see anything on the screen in sunlight(i have my brightness set to min). Well i downloaded the profile v2 and added it to tasker but the profile Get Light keeps disabling itself instead of a green tick i get a red cross symbol. I click it it turns green but the min i exit the app and start it again its back to a red cross. Any ideas why this is happening?

    edit:-

    added screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  18. silentwitness

    silentwitness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    318
    well i tried it in direct sunlight today but the screen brightness didnt change. However if i manually made the screen bright it reset back to min brightness on its own.
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I designed it that way. Get light only needs to be on when the screen turns on. It records the value then turns off. If it stays on, your battery would drain as it would constantly recording light values whilst the screen was on
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Check the variable in the variables tab. Is it going above the values set? If not, maybe you need to alter the values to suit you. They need adjusting. When I want screen bright might be s higher light value than you...

    If you turn it up and it goes dimmer, seems its working just not at values you want to work with
     
  21. alicemenezes

    alicemenezes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey..... I'm not sure what this is. ?But I too would like to have an out brightness adjust thing. Does it work on ice cream sandwich...?? Its an app rite..?
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    This is the Tasker app forum. Yes, tasker is an app
     
  23. silentwitness

    silentwitness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    318
    ya i figured that out after reading the profile for testing sake i changed the parameters and made everything to 255 but i dunno the screen does not seem to register brightness above 500.
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Where do you live? Maybe its winter and there is no brightness over 500
     
  25. silentwitness

    silentwitness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    318
    im in india there is always bright sunlight. I stood in direct sunlight and turned the phone on and tried but no luck.
     

Share This Page

Loading...