pros and cons of rooting

1. gloriousnumber1

gloriousnumber1 Well-Known Member

I was wondering, would I only be able to take advantage of my phone (were I to root it) from my computer at home as far as making changes that I can't do now, or will I be able to do a lot of it from my phone too? I ask because I have more time to use my phone than my computer since I'm away from home working a lot of hours during the week.

I am also nervous that I might mess my phone up if I root it, or that it will need warranty replacement after being rooted and be broken to the point that I can't undo that before I take it in.

I am not a tech expert or computer nerd but I can follow directions and I'm far from technically challenged. I don't doubt I could do that if I wanted to. I'm just not sure if rooting is for me, although I think a lot of stuff I want to do I can't without rooting, I just hope I don't get in over my head.

Thoughts everyone?

Advertisement
  2. Lock-N-Load

Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

you will mostly use your phone, not so much your computer after rooting. most of the benefits come from apps and themes and ROMS and kernels you can download and install right from the phone.. rarely is a computer needed

many say, it is nearly impossible to brick a phone during rooting. there are so many step by step and existing threads on it, you should be totally fine.

you kind of have to be a **** to not be able to pull it off. there are even apps that can d it for you - EasyRoot (but research it) - and the old school step by step way takes some time and effort, by the thousands have done it.

the only real con is it will make you spend way more time ******* with your phone then you ever really wanted to :)
  3. dxc

dxc Member

lol i agree with that.
  4. gloriousnumber1