Proud owner of Adobe Master Collection CS4


Last Updated:

  1. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367

    Advertisement
  2. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Nevermind. Quickly cancelled. CS5 Coming out in two weeks LOL
     
  3. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    Good god, I am so fed up with Adobe. They are getting as bad as Autodesk. Max and Maya are coming out in April, too. These companies deserve to have to support Mac users.
     
  4. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Fed up or not adobe makes the best products for end to end solutions.
     
  5. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    I agree there. Have you checked out that site Dear Adobe? It's pretty funny. What I found even more entertaining was some of the comments were answered.
     
  6. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Besides, I don't pay full price for adobe stuff anyways.
     
  7. BuzWeaver

    BuzWeaver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can almost expect Adobe to be cranking out newer versions every year, however once you do buy a package you can simply buy the upgrade (at least that's how it use to work). I typically just use Photoshop, even though I have the full version of CS3. Since I seldom do any graphics work anymore I just don't see a need to play keeping up with the Adobe's.
     
  8. Notluk

    Notluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    I just started working with Dreamweaver CS4 last week, I wonder what differences will be in DW CS5, maybe I should just wait and get that...



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Dreamweaver rocks.
     
  10. Notluk

    Notluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    I knew a fair bit of html before, but the possibilites with this program seem endless, not to mention it saves so much time by being so much more graphically driven. Adding code is just a few button clicks away, it's awesome. :D I just need to get a good book/guide on it. Web development is definitely a good field to get into.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Maybe if your from india or china where they do it for pennies on the dollar.
     
  12. Notluk

    Notluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hah! That does hurt things a bit in that sense. Either way, it's a good skill to have.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  13. jzsean

    jzsean Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I must be seeing things. I thought I read bought and adobe in the same setence.
     
  14. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Oh, you must be one of those non-devs who like to spew rhetoric and disdain for things they don't understand or haven't used.
     
  15. MrClean

    MrClean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    73
    I just bought a new DSLR camera and was looking at the Photoshop software, granted I hadn't looked at their site in years, but I about died when I saw the CS products. They sure are nice, but a lot of money too. I'm going to settle for the 'family' version, more in my price range/need. Apparently the Adobe products do a lot more than adjust pictures now a days :)
     
  16. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Yeah cs stuff is a complete multimedia end to end to end solution. Second to none. Photoshop has vector based output now, and complete 3d rendering power.
     
  17. 150_cav

    150_cav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    33
  18. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    I wish it could do it for me, period.

    Do you know why I like making graphics so much? It is because it feels so good when I stop. :)

    Too bad the people in the Adobe booths just give me the "smile and nod" that you give a crazy person when I try to get them to add geodata into Illustrator. At this point you can get Illustrator files out of ESRI's stuff, but why even bother with all of that when what you really want is to make a really nice map using Adobe's cool vector stuff and have it be accurate? Cleaning it up in Illustrator after you do all of the map making is "teh suck."
     
  19. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    What the hell does geodata have to with illustrator.
     
  20. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    It has nothing to do with it, that is the unfortunate part. The more important parts of our geodata is expressed in vectors. We've got some great plugins for Photoshop that allow us to use rectified satellite imagery but that is just for bitmaps. If you're making a vector map, you can do it with mapping software but it looks bad. You do not have the control over the vectors that you do in Illustrator.

    You can take those vectors and bring them into Illustrator but you have to be done with them because Illustrator ignores the geodata (I would if I could, so I don't blame it.) If it is decided that something about the vector data has to change, you are left with a couple of choices: 1. Fix it in Illustrator which is fine for your map, but anything else that has to be correlated with it will be wrong so you probably should fix it for the other pipelines, too. 2. Fix it in the mapping software then re-export it to Illustrator and reapply all of the changes you made to make it look nice. You will also have to send it to the other ends of the pipeline, too.

    Either way, you're screwed if you need to change those vectors. It would just be nice to be able to skip the mapping software after all of the analysis was done. If you could see the difference in quality between the standard ESRI map output and what we can do with the same data in Illustrator, you'd laugh at people who have to use those tools to make maps. I would, too if I weren't too busy dodging projectiles from angry graphics people.
     
  21. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Sounds like you need a specialty program like autocad or something. There probably isn't enough profit motive to implement what you need.
     
  22. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    Wow, it is funny that you mentioned AutoCAD. We tried to get them to use that and the graphics people threw so much stuff at us that I needed to wear protective gear to work. We're trying to see if someone wants to submit an RFP or something to make a plugin for Illustrator. It would not only save production costs but medical costs as well. We can't get coverage for "stapler related" injuries. You'd think it might be better to hire artists that were less volatile, but *you* go in there and fire them. I will be hiding in the bathroom.
     
  23. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    I know what you mean. Being in the graphics industry myself, I do intermediate to some advanced design work ok, but I'm more focused on selling our product, consultations, and the whole business end of things. So I have had plenty of snooty "artists" which some of them weren't even any good. They think noone can out draw them blah blah don't let the door hit you lol. Perhaps you can post a clist advert to contract someone to make this plugin for you, then license it out to similiar companies like yourself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...