PS1 Emulator Thread


Last Updated:

  1. Liebertron

    Liebertron Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    12
    A while back I tried to get a PS1 emulator going on my computer with no luck. I figured I might as well start asking questions now since the emulator just came out for the android.

    Anyone have any good links of tutorials or want to go ahead and post on here as to us less tech savvy evo users?

    Would love to get some FF7, tactics, and Breath of Fire going.
     

    Advertisement
  2. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    What do you need a tutorial for? Download the app from the market. Find a BIOS file, transfer it to the Evo. Open the emulator, point it to the BIOS file you just put on it, and then download a rom and play.
     
  3. Liebertron

    Liebertron Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    12
    BIOS file?
     
  4. Naz927

    Naz927 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    FF VII works really, really good, there are a couple little audio hiccups here and there, but they are VERY minor. Just like with ANY PSX Emulator, you just need a BIOS file to run this, and make SURE you set the screen refresh rate to 30. So far I've tested, FVII and Resident Evil 2 and both run great, I'm going to try Parasite Eve here soon.

    Here is a guide posted over on xda...

    Step by step tutorial to getting psx4droid to work... - xda-developers
     
    Liebertron likes this.
  5. Jack Daniels

    Jack Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    12
    My only issue is the lack of l2 r2 buttons anyone know what to do about this?
     
  6. Naz927

    Naz927 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just tested Parasite Eve, runs flawlessly.
     
  7. Naz927

    Naz927 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    You could try to assign them to some of the capacitive buttons in the settings, I haven't tried that so not really sure, this is the first release of the emulator and knowing Zod and co. they will update it and add these two buttons.
     
  8. Jack Daniels

    Jack Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    12
    I hope so playing star ocean is a little hard
     
  9. teknagen

    teknagen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    13
    will a ps3 controller work?
     
  10. dannytech_lt

    dannytech_lt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    2
    the problem im having is wear the hell do i download the scph1001.bin?
     
  11. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    103
    Google is your friend.

    All Final Fantasy Info: Index.of PSone Emulator Room

    Also a quick tip for those of you looking for specific files. Type this in Google and it SHOULD give you some results, also helps for finding music and such.

    " Index/of/ [file] [file extension if u need] "

    So it should look like this:

    Index/of/[space]scph1001.bin or
    Index/of/[space]scph1001[space].bin

    The results you should be looking for are in a directory listing, hence the "index[slash]of[slash] like this, which was the first result of when I was searching, but wasn't sure this file was exactly the one. But feel free to try it to see if it works.

    Index of /users/prete
     
    Mistiq likes this.
  12. RichboyJhae

    RichboyJhae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    262
    Well I'm one of the unlucky few that tried to download it but I'm stuck on Authorizing Purchase. I've never been more angry with Android :(.
     
  13. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Jesus Christ people is it that hard????

    Once again....Google is your friend. Use it.
     
  14. nzo

    nzo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same here, for hours now. Any fix for this?
     
  15. RichboyJhae

    RichboyJhae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    262
    Not yet. There's an alternate link for downloading from this site, but I already did the order, clicked refund, and tried again to no avail so now I'm stuck with it. If you're able to refund I suggest https://slideme.org/application/psx4droid. Of course I'm not sure if you're able to get updates with this since it doesn't come from the market.
     
  16. RichboyJhae

    RichboyJhae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    262
    Is it illegal to post the link to a bios file? I find it weird how no one's added it yet. They just keep saying "OMG LOOK FOR IT ON GOOGLE!"
     
  17. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    i'm going to make a blanket suggestion. the forum is here to connect people who need help, with people who want to help. if you don't wish to help, don't. if people don't know to use google for things like where to find a file by name for download, or some other item, well, i think they are exactly why the forum exists.

    also, if they choose to ask in the forum, maybe a reply might be better if suggestions on where to find the most secure download of said requested file, as this would also help people to protect themselves from corrupt files and viruses. THAT would be helpful.

    (let me google that for you is a funny way to make a point. but being aloof is not. a great deal of help is available from google. for new people, a virus is just 1 google away)
     
    gregs887, ocnbrze and RichboyJhae like this.
  18. shadowhawk2020

    shadowhawk2020 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Grand Turismo 2 works pretty well. A litlle slow down. However, Tony hawk 3 runs but the color and sound is messed up, and Knockout Kings does not work at all.

    On cyanogen mod that wiimote and the classic controller work like a charm.
     
  19. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    64
    Yes, otherwise it'd be included with the emulator.
     
  20. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Considering it's illegal to post a link to a BIOS file, that's why we tell people to google it.
     
  21. henbone11

    henbone11 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    ive tried 5 different games and everything works perfectly. be advised that you have to set the screen refresh rate to 30 or it skips rather badly. I cant wait for the n64droid emu. hopefully its soon. (/me hears the goldeneye music playing already)

    btw, I tried 3 different bios version and all 3 work just fine. so it doesnt appear that you need the specific one that has been listed here.
     
  22. alansauce

    alansauce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    FF7 and Gran Turismo 2 works pretty well, but Metal Gear Solid crashed after the first 2 screens. Which is tragic!
     
  23. tjwoo

    tjwoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    50
    My only complaint is that I wish they had frame skip like do with the other emulators on market. Frame skip makes RPG grinds so much better.
     
  24. Jack Daniels

    Jack Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    12
    anyone notice that L2 and R2 actually don't exist i wonder if this will be fixed in an update
     
  25. dmac250

    dmac250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    4
    i cant find the emulator anywhere...i tried downloading it on the market..got stuck in the screen about authorization ...they sent me a link to the slideme site...nowhere on there do i see the
    file where you can download it....is there anywhere else i should be looking...."use google is not a good response here'...i have :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...