PSFreedom Ported to HTC Incredible


Last Updated:

  1. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885

    Advertisement
  2. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    nice work :)
    i have no idea what this does but I assume its something good.
    hmmmmm. i have a ps3 sitting there just waiting.

    guess i should read up on why i would want to do this.
     
  3. syrguy1969

    syrguy1969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well...if it is from adrynalyne I am betting it is good!! I actually just learned about the idea of this this morning, and I am reading what I can, but if anyone can give me a good idea of the benefits/uses of accomplishing this would give me I would love to learn!! Thanks!!!
     
  4. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    PS3 homebrew via Incredible = jealousy of all your PS3 owning friends :D
     
  5. tek85

    tek85 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was just going to post something about this (been waiting for it!).

    Now, if I apply this zip, will restoring my old nandroid backup put everything back to normal and remove the PSfreedom? Also, what are the risks of bricking or ruining something (if any).

    I guess I was just a little confused on where it says
    Thanks again!!! I'm so pumped!
     
  6. pwrshft99

    pwrshft99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm new to this stuff and a little confused. Just a couple of weeks ago I did the manual Froyo update, the first thing like that ive ever tried. I badly want to be the first of my friends with a modded PS3 but not brave enouh to try yet.

    Please excuse my ignorance but my incredible and PS3 are my fav toys, pricking either would ruin my mood. this is basically removing the rom from the phone, installing psfredom, transferring to and installing on ps3 then reinstall the phone rom after ??

    The phone must be rooted for this ? I thought 2.2 had not been rooted yet ?
     
  7. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    would have been great but my roommate upgraded my ps3 so now i cant use it
     
  8. 3L3C7R0

    3L3C7R0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    the site is down...
     
  9. killadanny

    killadanny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    102
    works for me! ;)
     
  10. pwrshft99

    pwrshft99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Link has been hit or miss for me... and naturally when I have the time to sit down and do it, its down.
     
  11. b1gg134

    b1gg134 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    25
    This works great, Virtuous 2.6 flashed this zip, I rebooted the phone, hooked it to PS3 it did its trick to the PS3, I then loaded backup manager and ftp server on the PS3.


    Nice work adrynalyne
     
  12. Rigg3L

    Rigg3L Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Now once you do this to your ps3 do you have to hook your phone back up to it everytime you wanna use the backup thing or no?
     
  13. b1gg134

    b1gg134 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yes, i am only using my Incredible until my Teensy+ board comes
     
  14. Rigg3L

    Rigg3L Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    worked perfect! Thx adrynalyne!!
     
  15. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    so I was at 3.4 so I found 3.41 and updated using my phone as a usb drive :)
    followed the instructions and now I have the folders in the games menu.

    now if anyone can direct me to guides on how to make backups and load backups on to the ps3 I would be very happy :)
     
  16. pwrshft99

    pwrshft99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im stumped, as usual lol

    I followed the guide step by step. Turned on my PS3 and the new options were there.
    However, when I tried to install it said something like "no installable package found " ?? everything is 10 times harder when i try it.......
     
  17. Rigg3L

    Rigg3L Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, now what you have to do is find and download backup manager and save it on a flash drive or something and plug it into your ps3. Then on the playstation goto "install package files" it should install. Just launch it and The rest is self explanatory! Enjoy
     
  18. pwrshft99

    pwrshft99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Finally got it all set up on my PS3!!!

    Not sure how well its working. I backed up the only game I have and in the backup manager it now shows both, the game disc and ripped copy on HDD.

    I select the back up version but it takes me back to the XMB screen.

    Now they way I understand it, the game that is in the drive will still show in the XMB. When you start it though, it should play the back up instead.

    However, sice this is my only game at the moment, I'm not sure if Im playing the original or backup.
     
  19. Lev16

    Lev16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    27
    I downloaded the PS update a day before I found out about PSFreedom. Def bummed a little bit. Anyone know if this thing works with the new update version of PS? Kind of figured the new version would block freedom.
     
  20. mangler1055

    mangler1055 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    Fantastic!

    Now, what is it? (and yes i googled it)
     
  21. pwrshft99

    pwrshft99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    It's still early bit this is going to lead to some impressive things. The initial uack allows homebrew, which basically means the sky is the limit.

    I just hacked my PS3 last night, then installed backup manager. I ripped battlefield 2 to my hdd in about 45 mins.

    Someone had figured out a way to play the games you have ripped onto your PS3, with a PSP thru WiFi. This will probably be fixed by Sony bit still.

    Don't forget the PS3 is a powerful supercomputer. People claim that it maybe possible to install windows. A wireless mouse and keyboard and its now basically a PC. When you want to play games you turn it off and reboot to the PS XMB..
     
  22. mangler1055

    mangler1055 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    oh, so you need a PSP for it to be meaningful? Or can i put download games on my ps3 hard drive and play them?
     
  23. pwrshft99

    pwrshft99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    You can play games off the hdd, some games will even work with a fat32 external hdd. I didn't think battlefield would work with my 2tb external but it works great and loads faster.

    The catch for now is you need one original game in the drive for it to work but I'm sure you got one already.
     
  24. h3rmanmunst3r

    h3rmanmunst3r Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ha, I wouldn't quite say "supercomputer". Not even close. Both PS3 and XBOX360 hardware are very outdated by today's standards. But yes, it is a computer and could potentially run windows.
     
  25. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    did they get this to work with the newest firmware sony pushed out? or only 1.42 or whatever?
     

Share This Page

Loading...