Purchased New Evo 4G UNLOCKEDTips


Last Updated:

  1. Vitamin MMA

    Vitamin MMA Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just purchased an Evo 4G which is unlocked. I'm with T-mobile. I have the MyTouch 3G Slide AND an iPhone right now. To tell you the truth.. neither one makes me happy. So I saved up and grabbed an Evo 4G.

    My question is now.. what should I expect from an unlocked Evo 4G using T-mobile? Am I going to lose any main features on the phone because i'm with T-mobile and not Sprint?

    What advice can you, if at all, give me? Anything would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. p0rkguy

    p0rkguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Return it. NOW.
    The Evo can only be used on Sprint and if flashed, MetroPCS.
     
  3. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    lol. the evo 4g is a cdma phone and will not work on a gsm network which is t-mobile. i hope you didn't buy it on ebay or criaglist as they usually have a no return policy. btw you cannot buy a sprint branded phone that is unlocked. the evo 4g will only run on sprints cdma network.
     
  4. jason81

    jason81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    21
    the only thing that I can say is wow..... you really should have done some basic research before being duped into that kind of a deal. There is no way to get the Evo to work on t-mobile. :rolleyes:
     
  5. JunBringer

    JunBringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    337
    What they said.
     
  6. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    If I were you, I'd keep the Evo and switch to Sprint. In my opinion a better value for your money.

    If you decide to stay with T-Mobile then I echo all the above statement.
     
  7. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    Sprint and Verizon use CDMA, T-mobile & AT&T use GSM. CDMA phones can't be used on GSM networks, and vice versa.

    Also, Sprint's phones can only be used on Sprint / Cricket / MetroPCS and maybe flashed to some Canadian CDMA carriers.
     
  8. GODMODE

    GODMODE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    7
    The Evo is a sprint phone and technologically incompatible with tmobiles technology. It simply will not work.

    In lots of cases, you can swap at&t with tmobile and vice versa, likewise with verizon and sprint.this is because they share technology standards, frequency and cellular protocols.

    Take your evo back, or go to sprint or perhaps verizon, if they don't laugh at you. For tmobile, get a g2 or wait for the upcoming mytouch HD. Otherwise you're out of luck.
     
  9. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    Sprint phones will not work on Verizon, and vice versa. That is due to the carrier's policies, not because of technical limitations.

    Only Sprint phones will work on Sprint, and only Verizon phones will work on Verizon.
     
  10. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    I thought that verizon would allow you to port Sprint Phones over to them, but that's not-confirmed. Just read it somewhere here.
     
  11. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Let me clarify some things for you....Sprint phones will work on Sprint, Cricket, and Metro. Verizon phones will also work on Verizon, Cricket, and Metro PCS. I know I have had both Sprint and Verizon phones on Cricket.
     
  12. thekarens

    thekarens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    32
    The person you quoted was only referring to whether Sprint and Verizon would work on each other's networks, not anything to do with Cricket or Metro. I think it's been well established with the zillion postings above it that we all know now that Sprint and Verizon will work on Cricket and Metro.
     
  13. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Yep, and some noob will come in here reading that and think that it wont work. I was just making sure the truth is out there. Not everyone is a phone geek (as per the op) lol
     
  14. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    29
    I just bought an EVO 4g on ebay that was unlocked by aliens and able to communicate with distant galaxies using a subspace channel. Can I use it on t-mobile? I heard they aren't upgrading to subspace until Android 3.0.
     
    SirSlayer likes this.
  15. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    LOL for you.....YES
     
  16. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    yea after unlocking and re-flashing. which btw doesn't make all sprint/verizon phones 100% fully operational on so carrier. its better for the noob to know nothing so they won't break their phones lol. :D
     
  17. t1jordan

    t1jordan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    22
    wow that sucks man!! You should have just purchased it from Amazon or something.
     
  18. Vitamin MMA

    Vitamin MMA Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem. Able to return it. Thanks for the info.
     
  19. cperg

    cperg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If one did purchase an EVO but really was not interested in the phone capabilities would the phone be able to be used on the Clear WiMax network as a tablet? Would not a Skype subscription and the Android Skype app on htc EVO do at least a good job of providing phone connectivity?

    Adding remote access to an existing Clear account and entering the MAC addy of the EVO should bring most of the functions of the device into play.

    Has anyone tried this? Has it worked or should it work? Opinions anyone?
     
  20. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    I would think that waiting a few weeks for release of all of the new tablets would make more sense.

    I mean you would have to be getting a killer deal on an evo as some of the lower end tablets will start at $150
     

Share This Page

Loading...