Push Email

Last Updated:

1. Buddy & Muff

Buddy & Muff New Member This Topic's Starter

Hi,

I have just swtiched from Blackberry to the HTC Desire. On my Blackberry, push email was exactly that - it was instant. On my new Desire I can't seem to find any settings to set it up in the same sort of way i.e instant email. I have succesfully set up around 4 or 5 accounts and the nearest settings I found was setting it to download every 5 minutes. Is this the nearest the Desire get's to push email?

Any help on setting this up would be greatly appreciated.

As you can see, I'm new to Android, HTC etc - please go gentle on me.:D

Advertisement
  2. mr-mixalot

mr-mixalot Active Member

Morning, I too have moved from Blackberry to a HTC Desire and was wondering the same thing, I suppose waiting 5 mins won't kill me

3. weirdNumber

weirdNumber Well-Known Member

I depends how your mail account is set up.
    I use my own IMAP mail server and use K-9 mail on my desire and push email works perfectly.

4. Banzibarn

Banzibarn Well-Known Member

Yep, you need an appropriate account.

The easiest way to get push mail is to use gmail and the gmail app.

5. brykins

brykins Well-Known Member

My setup:

I use K-9 Mail for all my email (don't like the Gmail app at all) and have set up my Gmail account as IMAP. Google's IMAP servers support the IDLE (PUSH) protocol so I am getting push/instant email on my Gmail account.

My own domains I have hosted with 1&1 and their email servers offer POP3 or IMAP. I use IMAP and again, they support IDLE so I am getting push/instant email on my own domain emails.

My last email address is a hotmail.co.uk one. This I have set up as a POP3 server and although K-9 Mail CAN check it every five minutes, I see errors when it does, indicating that Hotmail only allow checking every fifteen minutes at most.

I can live with this - nothing on my Hotmail account is ever that urgent.