Q&A about the Xperia X10Support


Last Updated:

  1. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys,

    still playing around with mine but just got some things I can't do and wonder if you could help please :D

    Ringtone
    I have put my music on my phone, but can't assign one of those as a ringtone. Any ideas how or do I have to download an app?

    Solution:
    Play the track in mediascape, press the menu button and set as ringtone is there.
    davethorp

    Messagetone
    Like the ringtone, I want to put a special one which I have also imported into my music.

    Solution:
    Or you can download an app called Tone Picker or Rings Extended, which lets you select any audio file for alarm, notification, ringtone etc.
    ameinild

    Pictures
    I can't seem to tranfer pictures on to the phone. They go into Media Go but won't let me put it into the phone! Help please!

    Solution:
    I think I sorted this one! Go to My Documents > Pictures > Media Go folder and ut the photos you want in there. Then go to the Media Go software and it should be in your Photos section. Then select those pictures in the photos that you want to put on your phone, right click your mouse and click Transfer to PHONE CARD. It should be in your Photos on your phone :D

    Birthdays
    Can you assign birthdays with your contacts or can oyu only do it on the calendar now?

    Solution:
    I think I have sort of solved this. Go to your Sony Ericsson Sync Support thing online. Go to contacts and you should be able to edit a birthday and other stuff like a website.

    But I don't think it transfers those on to the phone! So may have to use the calendar...

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. davethorp

    davethorp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ringtone

    Play the track in mediascape, press the menu button and set as ringtone is there

    Can't help on the rest
     
  3. pontuszaar

    pontuszaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    in mediascape, choose the song, then press the left buton and then use as ringtone!
    That works for the message signal to ? i think i had to restart the phone to get it on the message ringtone list.
    If it doesnt work let me know beacuse i managed to get it as a message signal somehow :)
     
  4. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks guys for the ringtone helped, yay.

    I'll restart my phone in a bit, still playing with it lol. And will try then :)
     
  5. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    No luck on the message/notification tone :(

    But think I have found the Birthday thing. You can edit the contacts on the Sony Ecrisson website when you sync up. It allows you to put a birthday/note. Yay.
     
  6. kersey

    kersey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    20
    Same here...have tried to move my desired message tone using Astro to the 'system/media/audio/notification' folder where all the other tones are but it won't let me copy anything there...there must be a way :confused:
     
  7. pontuszaar

    pontuszaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, try this for the message signal.

    I connected my x10 to my computer. Through the computer i copied the song from media/sounds(or something like that) folder to notification folder(i think)

    hm, sorry i cant remember the name of the folders i copied and pasted between. But try make some copies and put in different folders. Restart the phone... It worked for me :)
     
  8. ameinild

    ameinild Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    For alarms, notifications and ringtones, you have to put them here to work:

    SD Card/Audio/alarms
    SD Card/Audio/notifications
    SD Card/Audio/ringtones

    Or you can download an app called Tone Picker or Rings Extended, which lets you select any audio file for alarm, notification, ringtone etc.
     
  9. kersey

    kersey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    20
    Just tried Tone Picker...an excellent recommendation, have now got my notifications almost perfect except when I receive a message I get a slight default tone before my custom one kicks in...it's just as the notification appears on the top screen bar.

    Any idea how to disable this guys???

    Edit: Found how disable the top bar notification in 'Messages' settings
     
  10. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ooh will check those out now. Are these free or have to buy? If free, what category is it under?

    Thanks man :D

    EDIT: Sorry me just being dumb, found it and works a treat! No problems now yay.
     
  11. BlueboyJake

    BlueboyJake New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I receive a new text message (SMS) in the notification bar, it scrolls the text content of the message before closing. How can I hide the text notification in the notification panel? Is there a way of doing this in the settings menu?
     
  12. Smoggiedave

    Smoggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there no way to pause when making a video? I loved the cyber shot facilities such as best pic which also appear to have gone too.
     
  13. Smoggiedave

    Smoggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there no way of getting a standard mobile phone 0-9 keyboard either? the number pad is far too small for my fat fingers! I notice on the previous sony ericsson you can change the keyboard to numeric. I think I've messed up big time picking this phone and i'm stuck with it for 2 years!
     
  14. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    Do you mean the dialer for phone calls, cos the keys are huge on that or do you mean on the qwerty keyboard when texting/emailing etc?

    If it the latter then try installing the HTC_IME keyboard, one of the options is the old style T9 alpha numeric keyboard. There is a how to install guide on the X10 Guide sticky at the top of the forum.
     
  15. Smoggiedave

    Smoggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    QWERTY keyboard when texting. I have to turn my phone sideways for a slightly bigger keyboard which is a pain. The previous SE you could just press options and have 0-9 keys as you would text on old style phones.
     
  16. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317

Share This Page

Loading...